Skip to main content

Archives: Home

Worcester State University Archives and Special Collections

Welcome!

Welcome to the Worcester State University Archives and Special Collections

 

The Worcester State University Archives and Special Collections includes a variety of historical materials available for research use.

Visit the Collections page on this guide to learn more. 

Hours are 1:00 - 4:00 Wednesdays or by appointment-- Please check the WSU Library calendar for changes to regular hours. 

About Archives and Special Collections

University-related collections such as course catalogsgraduation programshistoric photographsstudent newspapers, and selected faculty and presidential papers from 1874-present. 

Rare Books which include topics on local and regional history some titles in popular fiction, and education.

Special Collections which include the Dennis Brutus collection of personal papers and manuscripts. 

How to access Archives and Special Collections

The Archives are open to members of the Worcester State Community and the general public. 

The Archives reading room is located in the Learning Resource Center (LRC),  room L-328A. 

Archives materials are unique, rare, fragile, or valuable so they don't circulate and must be used only in the reading room. 

When planning your visit: 

  • Bring a pencil (no pens, please)
  • Bring your ID so you can sign in.
  • Non-flash photos are permitted. 

How to donate materials

The Archives collects nearly Worcester State-related materials including course materials, event fliers, faculty and student publications, handbooks and guides, photographs, and memorabilia such as t-shirts, mugs, and buttons. 

The Archives can't pay money for materials, but your donation may be tax deductible. Contact the archivist for more information.

High on the Archives wish list. 

  • Yearbooks for 1938 and 1956, and any copies of the New Student Record. 
  • Issues The Acorn student newspaper (published before 1967).
  • Student Handbooks 1940-1958 and 2008-the present.
  • Faculty Handbooks pre 1965 and 1974-the present.
  • Staff/employee handbooks for all departments and from all years.

Featured image

Chandler Village, c. 1973. This image shows the Chandler Village residence halls when they were new. Opened in 1973, this complex was the first student housing buildings on the current campus. (Photo restored by Bill Byers)

Meet the Archivist

Links for archives, special collections, and rare books