Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives: Research opportunities

Worcester State University Archives and Special Collections

Research and scholarship Archives and Special Collections

Worcester State University Archives and Special Collections include primary sources that students and faculty can use for research. Highlighted below are some collections that support research into a variety of topics including local history, women's studies, and the history of pedagogy and higher education. 

Worcester State Admissions books (1870s-1920s)

Admissions books record biographical and vital information about prospective students including home address, father's profession, grades and job experience, and even physical characteristics. This data would support research about the demographics of WSU's early student body as well as information about Worcester's neighborhoods in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. 

WSU first faculty and students biographies (1874-1875)

As we approach Worcester State's 150th anniversary in 2024, the Archivist would like to develop biographies of faculty and students from our first semesters in 1874-75. Researchers would utilize archival collections as well as online databases of historic newspapers and genealogical materials. 

Apprentice Diaries (1880s-1900s)

"Apprentices" or student teachers used these diaries to record their experiences on campus, their scholarly activities, and their thoughts about courses, instructors, and sometimes larger political or social issues. These diaries give a glimpse into the experiences and thoughts of students living more than 100 years ago and record their approaches to school work and career pursuits. Transcripts of the handwritten originals are available. 

Student Newspapers (1960s-1990s)

Student newspapers document Worcester State's student life from the 1950s to the 2000s. Included are descriptions of campus life, events, and opinion pieces about current events. These publications give insight into what WSU students were thinking and doing during the late decades of the 20th century and reflect larger social and political issues that affected college campuses across the United States.