Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals and databases
A scholarly journal (also known as a periodical ) publishes research articles in a particular discipline.Journals are usually published monthly or quarterly and are organized by volume and issue. Some journals are peer reviewed which means each article is evaluated by a panel of experts before publication. An abstract is a short passage that describes the contents of a journal article. Most journals today are electronic, but some print editions are still published.
A database is a digital library containing a variety of electronic journals or books in a particular discipline. Most library databases are owned and operated by publishers. As with journals, your access is through the library's subscription, so you will be prompted to log in to your library account when viewing a database from off campus.
Search for Articles in WSU Online Databases
*BPL eCard (FULL JSTOR & more)
The Boston Public Library (BPL) offers an eCard to residents of Massachusetts, to students who attend school or those who work in the Commonwealth. An eCard gives you immediate access to selected BPL Electronic Resources from your computer.
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
A comprehensive bibliographic index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas (does NOT contain full-text of titles). Developed from “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750,” this useful database contains more than 32,000 entries.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. Broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals and 7,000 books are included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles. Subject coverage: Anthropology, Archaeology, Cultural studies, Demography, Economics, Education, Ethnology and ethnography, Political science, Religious studies, Sociology
Multidisciplinary digital archive of scholarly journals. Arts & Sciences Collection I, II and IV
- JSTOR also provides useful guides to History and Political Science Research
History - ProQuest Research Library
Database of publications for researchers in history at all levels. Subject coverage: Historical studies, Civilizations, Military history, Periods & events, US history, World history.
Proquest Social Sciences Databases
Search international literature for the social sciences with access to abstracts, indexing and full text of journal articles, books, dissertations, working papers and more. Featured databases: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), PAIS International, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA), ProQuest Social Science Journals, ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Research Library: Social Sciences and more.
How to Get an Article
A-Z list of all Research Databases available at WSU.
Search by Journal Title to identify which WSU Database has the full-text online.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
If it is not in the WSU Library, use the Article Request form to get digital photocopies of articles from other libraries.
Why can I only access an abstract?
The library's subscription doesn't always include every resource in a particular database. If you search a database and find only an abstract but want the entire article, you can request it through Interlibrary loan.