Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History and Political Science
The discipline of History and Political Science encompasses many human activities from the past including social life, economics, culture, thought, and politics. Students in this discipline may study individual people, groups, communities, and nations, and explore topics ranging from everyday life to social revolutions. History and Political Science requires students to think historically and to discover and analyze published scholarship as well as primary sources.
Research 101 - Getting Started in Library Research
Try the steps outlined in this guide for a simple and effective search strategy to find information for your research paper, project or presentation.
How to write an annotated bibliography
How to identify reliable information
Both the CRAAP Detector and the RADCAB method are good ways to test your information source for reliability.
One Search for WSU Library Materials
Start Here for History & Political Science Research
U.S. History In Context
An overview of U.S. history covering the most-studied events, people and issues in a comprehensive, contextual, media-rich online collection of historical information. Combines reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, scholarly analysis, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. Can cross-search with World History in Context.
World History in Context
An overview of World History covering events, movements and individuals chronologically over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe. A comprehensive multicultural, global and research-based online collection of reference works, scholarly analysis, full-text periodicals, primary documents, historical maps, atlases, image galleries, video and audio selections from archival newsreels and other sources. Can cross-search with U.S. History in Context.
Global Issues (Gale In Context)
GIC offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Topic and country portals bring together relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each gateway page includes an overview, "perspectives" articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information plus multimedia including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs.
Created by Oxford Analytica, “a first draft of history” providing succinct articles analyzing world and regional economic and political developments of major significance, and evaluates issues and events within a coherent political, social, and economic framework. The objective, multidisciplinary articles are compiled by an international network of faculty members at Oxford and other leading universities, as well as think-tanks and other institutions of international standing and include economists, international relations specialists, and political/social analysts.
Original, in-depth, authoritative analysis on a range of political and social-policy issues. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Each report includes an overview, historical background, chronology, bibliography and a debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
This database covers timely issues, from capital punishment to drug legalization.
Library Research 101
During summer, 2021, WSU joined the HELM consortium and introduced a new search interface. Tutorials will be posted here soon.