Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History & Political Science: Historic Newspapers

Library resources for the study of history and political science

Historic Newspapers

American Popular Entertainment Collection: Entertainment industry-related newspapers from 1853-1929 from the University of Illinois. 

Boston Public Library Newspaper Databases: Historical and international online newspaper databases that can be accessed by registering for a BPL eCard account.

Boston Public Library eCard: Register online here. Available to residents of Massachusetts or any student or employee of an educational institution. Provides immediate access to BPL electronic resources.

Bowling Green State University: This libguide from BGSU contains links to a variety of historical newspapers.

Chronicling America: Search newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about newspapers published between 1690-present. From the Library of Congress.

Historical Newspapers by State - U.S.: Resource Guide from the University of Pennsylvania Libraries.

NewspaperCat: Catalog of Digital Historical Newspapers (NewspaperCat) is a search engine for online digitized historical newspaper content from newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean. From the University of Florida.

Wikipedia list of newspaper archives An ever-changing list of newspaper archives from around the world.

20th Century Resources

Freely-accessible resources 

Billboard Magazine, 1920-2016. Focused on entertainment ranging from circuses and theater in early editions to popular music and movies. Most famous for its pop music charts. 

Ebony Magazine, 1950s-Present. African-American popular interest and lifestyle magazine. 

Jet Magazine 1950s-present. African-American interest with an emphasis on social issues and politics. 

Life Magazine: 1936-1972. General interest topics ranging from lifestyle to politics. Famous for its iconic photography. 

The Atlantic :1857--present, from the publisher's webpage. General interest topics. 

Subscription Resources (Must be logged into the WSU network to view) 

Time Magazine, 1923-Present hosted by Ebsco. News magazine. 

Newsweek, 1975-2012 from Lexus-Nexus (Enter search terms into box. On results screen, use dropdown to sort by date or relevance). News magazine. 

Saturday Evening Post, 1839-Present hosted by Ebsco. Topics include general interests, lifestyle articles and politics.