LibGuides: History & Political Science: Reference Resources

What are reference resources?

Reference materials help you quickly discover information such as facts, definitions, or biographical information. Typical reference materials include encyclopedias, dictionaries, and atlases as well as other published materials. Some databases provide reference information and the library also keeps print reference materials on specially marked shelves.

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias and more

Gather background information on people, events, concepts and more using authoritative library resources.

Credo Reference
Search over 600 reference books along with images and concept mapping tools. Contains a significant collection of comprehensive, international, multidisciplinary resources for history and political science.
Oxford Reference
Subject dictionaries, encyclopedias and the Companions series from Oxford University Press. Titles include: A Dictionary of Contemporary World History, Who's Who in the Classical World, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics, The Oxford Companion to Global Change, Guide to Latin in International Law.
Biography (Gale In Context)
Biographical information spanning history and geography providing multidisciplinary contextualized content on notable figures and the societal forces that have shaped their lives. Entries feature multi-media content from reference sources, academic journals, news sources, magazines and selected websites and include current historical information and snapshot summaries of key information.
Pop Culture Universe - Academic edition
Contains a comprehensive, objective and authoritative collection of information and multi-media content on popular culture in America both past and present. Offers the ability to browse by decade or search by subject.

More Resources

Britannica Academic
Start here for background information on most topics with the web version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica and links to vetted websites. With links to the World Atlas, Biographies, and more.