Skip to main content

Archives: WSU yearbooks online

Worcester State University Archives and Special Collections

Yearbooks at Worcester State

The Worcester State University yearbooks document student life, academic programs, and campus events from 1935-2011. Yearbooks feature photos and information about students, faculty, staff, and campus events. Some include student artwork, prose, or poetry.  Most editions are titled The Oak Leaf but, by the late 1960s, other titles appear including Transitions and Accolade. 

The entire Worcester State yearbook collection was digitized in 2015 and is available online through the links below. Print editions from 1948-2011 are available for viewing in the Archives and Special Collections reading room, LRC room 328 A. To view the finding aid for these, visit the collections page of this guide. 

Explore the digital yearbook collection.

What is the Internet Archive?

The Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library providing free access to digitized materials, including web sites, software applications and games, music, movies and videos, moving images, and nearly three million public-domain books. It also features the Wayback Machine, a digital library of more than 5 billion archived web pages.

Featured Yearbook

 

1935

The forward to this inaugural edition of the Oak Leaf introduced readers to the yearbook's title: 

Just as the Oak Tree sturdily and staunchly bears up under the strongest wind to become mighty in its triumph, so too does the State Teachers College prevail over every obstacle. It was this same spirit which moved those of the old State Normal School to adopt the oak leaf as their emblem. In that spirit, we, too, have chosen The Oak Leaf as the most fitting title for this book, the record of the class of 1935. 

At the time this was written, only a few years had passed since the Worcester Normal School became a State Teachers College and moved to a brand new campus, but students and faculty were also experiencing the worst years of the Great Depression. The class of 1935 knew that challenging times lay ahead. 

How were these yearbooks digitized?

The Worcester State yearbooks were digitized through a 2015 grant from Digital Commonwealtha non-profit organization supporting creation, management, and dissemination of cultural heritage materials held by Massachusetts institutions. The project was funded entirely by state and federal funds at no cost to the University.