Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminal Justice Research Guide: Overview

A good starting point for finding resources in criminal justice

Start Here

Credo Reference - a supercharged Wikipedia including encyclopedias and dictionaries from across disciplines.  More than 900 full text reference books.  Click a button and your search can be continued in our article databases or the WSU Library's Online Catalog

Contains images, sound files, animations, videos and topic pages that organize research tools available for your topic. There is also a concept map, interactive software to map out and focus your chosen research topic.

Encyclopedias

Subject specialized full text eBooks. 

West's Encyclopedia of American Law  2nd edition, 13 vols. Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics. Includes completely revised articles covering important issues, biographies, definitions of legal terms and more.

Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law  3rd edition, 2 vols (2013) This encyclopedia containing: brief descriptions of each issue's historical background, covering important statutes and cases; profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations; and details of how laws and regulations vary from state to state.

One Search for all WSU Library Materials

WSU Databases in Criminal Justice

Lexis-Nexis (Nexis Uni) features more than 10,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface, personalization features, and a collaborative workspace.

[ProQuest] Criminal Justice.  A comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information for professionals in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security.

Criminal Justice Collection - Targeted collection from InfoTrac of academic journals, magazines, books, news and multimedia, covering law enforcement, paralegal topics, homeland security and all aspects of criminal justice.

HeinOnLine - Law-related periodicals, the Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations. U.S. Reports to 1754 and databases of treaties, case law, constitution, and case law.

Public Affairs International - Public affairs and world issues with coverage from 1972 to the present. An index to national and international articles, books, government documents, Internet sites and documents. Best search interface through  ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection

ProQuest Social Science Journals -  510 social science titles, with half available in full text. Information about topics including addiction studies, family studies, urban studies, criminal justice and international relations.

Newspapers - WSU's web page with links to daily and searchable archives of online newspapers and other news outlne