West's Encyclopedia of American Law
2nd edition, 13 vols.
Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics. Includes completely revised articles covering important issues, biographies, definitions of legal terms and more. Covers such high-profile topics as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, and physician-assisted suicide.
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
3rd edition, 2 vols (2013)
This encyclopedia fills the gap between legal texts focusing on the theory and history behind the law and more practical guides dealing with the law and its everyday effect upon its citizens.
Containing approximately 200 articles, includes: brief descriptions of each issue's historical background, covering important statutes and cases; profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations; and details of how laws and regulations vary from state to state.
Google Scholar – searchable for articles and case law. Includes citation information.
Govinfo.gov - The United Staes Government Printing Office (GPO) site for federal publications. Includes indexes and other search tools as well as bills, statutes and regulations as well as the Congressional Record.
Law Library of Congress – includes content as well as search tools and tips for finding legal information.
United States Code - The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.
US Supreme Court Opinions - Full text of all decisions from 1893 to date. Can be searched by citation, case title, and full text
Supreme Court Collection - From the Legal Information Institute, Cornell University. Provides full text of all US Supreme Court decisions since 1990, plus 610 of the most significant earlier decisions. Indexed by topic, date, and parties.
US Government Links - our Web page with links to the US Constitution, Federal Register, Congressional Record, and more
