LibGuides: Occupational Therapy Research Guide: Overview

START WITH THESE RESOURCES

Cross-searches over 60 full text reference books with a single search. Find facts and background material, images, sound files, animations, videos and topic pages that organize research tools available for your topic. There is also a concept map, interactive software to map out and focus your chosen research topic.

Credo Health & Medicine Topic Pages

With one click, get encyclopedia summary articles, Mind Maps, charts and graphs, related articles, and more on your research topic!

Access Science - Medicine & Health Sciences by McGraw Hill provides access to more than 8500 articles and Research Reviews covering all major scientific disciplines and encompassing the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology; 115,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; 3000 biographies of well-known scientific figures; 18,000+ downloadable videos, images and animations illustrating key topics.

Research 101 - Getting Started in Library Research

Try the steps outlined in this guide for a simple and effective search strategy to find information for your research paper, project or presentation.

Getting Started in Library Research

Research 101
Try the steps outlined in this guide for a simple and effective search strategy to find information for your research paper, project or presentation.
Citations Guide
Provides information and links on plagiarism, APA Style basics and examples, and setting up citation management systems such as EndNote that can store all your research as well as put all your references into proper format!

International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF)

International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health (ICF)
ICF is the WHO framework for measuring health and disability at both individual and population levels.
more...less...
The International Classification of Functioning, Disability and Health, known more commonly as ICF, is a classification of health and health-related domains. As the functioning and disability of an individual occurs in a context, ICF also includes a list of environmental factors.

Mapping the Literature

Mapping the Literature of Occupational Therapy
How is Occupational Therapy covered by the major databases, and what do the newest findings suggest about the field.

Core Databases for Occupational Therapy

MEDLINE (EBSCO Search)
MEDLINE (PubMed Search)
Created by the National Library of Medicine, users can search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, psychiatry, the health care system, and more. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. TO CHECK FOR WSU AVAILABILITY, view Abstract and click on "360 Link to Full Text" icon.
Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information & Exchange (CIRRIE)
CIRRIE’s role is to identify and disseminate in the U.S. information found useful in other countries for the rehabilitation of persons with disabilities. CIRRIE has developed a Database of International Rehabilitation Research. The database may be searched by subject, author, country, title, year and other parameters. CIRRIE has also developed an online, multi-lingual International Encyclopedia of Rehabilitation, which can be downloaded from this site.
more...less...
The International Encyclopedia of Rehabilitation provides a synthesis of much of this research. The majority of the authors of the Encyclopedia articles are from outside the U.S. as are the reviewers, providing the Encyclopedia with an international scope.

CIRRIE supports international collaboration in rehabilitation research through its program to support exchanges of researchers between the U.S. and other countries.

CIRRIE also develops educational resources related to culture and disability to strengthen the cultural competency of rehabilitation service providers who work with persons born outside the U.S., especially recent immigrants.

Additionally, CIRRIE compiles a list of conferences, workshops and other events that provide settings for the exchange of expertise internationally. In our current cycle we have conducted the U.S. Launch and Symposium for the World Report on Disability.
CINAHL Complete
The definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature. It is the most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index with no embargo periods!

Health and Medical Collection
Offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.

MOHO Web
The Model of Human Occupation (MOHO) explains how occupations are motivated, patterned, and performed within everyday environments. MOHO Web is an online resource of for occupational therapy practitioners, educators, students, and researchers. Here you may access free and fee-based MOHO assessments and interventions that are supported for distribution through the University of Illinois at Chicago. Assessments for sale have been psychometrically validated using classical test theory and RASCH approaches. References to this research and other evidence for the use of MOHO throughout the world are available in the Scholarship section.
OTseeker
OTseeker is a database developed by Occupational Therapists from two Australian Universities, the University of Queensland (School of Health and Rehabilitation Sciences), and the University of Sydney. The database contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretibility. These ratings will help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing clinical interventions. Also offers other freely accessible resources, power-point presentations and links to evidence-based practice resources.
PEDro, the Physiotherapy Evidence Database
PEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 34,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice. PEDro is produced by the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at The George Institute for Global Health in Australia.

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile)
This collection includes over 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine, providing researchers with access to topics discussed in the field, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research theses, and many more. Primarily periodicals.

APA PsycInfo
Citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, all in psychology and related disciplines. Largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral sciences and mental health. International coverage. .
REHABDATA
Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, this is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.
more...less...
Three main categories of documents are included: (1) reports, studies, and papers submitted by projects funded by the National Institute on Disability, Independent Living, and Rehabilitation Research (as featured in the NIDILRR Program Directory); (2) articles published in rehabilitation-related periodicals; and (3) commercially published books. Some non-print materials are also included.The collection spans 1956 to the present.

Science Direct
A leading full-text scientific database offering almost 14 million journal articles from more than 3,800 peer-reviewed journals and book chapters from more than 35,000 books. Covers topics in the health & life sciences and the social & behavioral sciences.

Search Library Resources with WSU Discovery Service!

WSU Links

What is Occupational Therapy?

Occupational therapy practitioners ask,

"What matters to you?" not, "What's the matter with you?"

Occupational therapists and occupational therapy assistants help people across the lifespan participate in the things they want and need to do through the therapeutic use of everyday activities (occupations).

From the American Occupational Therapy Association

Health Sciences & Electronic Resources Librarian

William Lundmark

Email Me

Contact:

Learning Resource Center Room 226

508-929-8897