LibGuides: Occupational Therapy Research Guide: Resources for Individuals & Families, Accessibility Techology

Resources for Individuals, Parents & Caregivers

ExceptionalLives.org
Free, easy-to-use resources for parents and care providers of children with disabilities, including Guides for IEP's, Special Ed., SSI, Health Insurance, and Guardianship. These Guides are written in plain language with action steps and are developed and reviewed with subject matter experts, based on the latest research and best practices. Exceptional Lives also provides a Disability Resource Directory, a searchable online database of disability programs and providers in Massachusetts.
more...less...
The Directory is designed for parents and caregivers of children or adults with developmental disabilities – and professional care providers that serve them. It contains more than 1,200 resources in 54 service categories in areas such as:
--Therapy (including speech, PT, OT, and ABA providers)
--Education
--Employment (including transition & vocational programs)
--Medical & clinical
--Adult programs (including housing & transportation services)
--Parent & caregiver support
--Legal help
--Social & recreational (including after-school programs & summer camps)
--Sibling support, family grants, and more.
Aginginplace.org
A resource hub about the specific aspects of aging in place. Unbiased, informative guides help seniors and their loved ones make informed decisions about their homes, finances, health, activities of daily living (ADL) and independent living.
MedlinePlus on Disabilities
Comprehensive information for people with disabilities, their families and caregivers. Provides the Basics, Living With, Statistics, Research, Find an Expert, mobility aids and assistive devices, and more.

Technology Resources

BestMobilityAids.con
Site describes itself as providing, "Impartial advice on selecting the best mobility aids including mobility scooters, rollators, walking frames, wheelchairs and home aids to keep you active and help you lead a fulfilling and independent life no matter your age." Also has information on Home Aids, Caregiving, Wellbeing (Getting a guide dog, Accessing government assistance).
more...less...
Disclaimers: As a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, site sometimes uses affiliate links, which means they may receive a commission for purchases made through these links. All content on Best Mobility Aids is for informational and educational purposes only. It is not intended to serve as a substitute for the consultation, diagnosis, and/or medical treatment of a qualified physician or healthcare provider.
disABILITY Information and Resources
List of resources for people living with a disability
JAN- Job Accommodation Network
Source of free, expert, and confidential guidance on workplace accommodations and disability employment issues.
Rehabilitation Engineering and Assistive Technology Society of North America (RESNA)
MAOT is a non-profit volunteer organization that provides a professional community for its members. MAOT represents occupational therapy to the public, engages in activities to advocate for the profession, and provides continuing education opportunities for members.
more...less...
Promotes the health and well-being of people with disabilities through increasing access to technology solutions.
Association for Driver Rehabilitation Specialists
Supports professionals working in the field of driver education / driver training and transportation equipment modifications for persons with disabilities through education and information dissemination.

Independent Living Resources

NCIL- The National Council on Independent Living
The National Council on Independent Living is the longest-running national cross-disability, grassroots organization run by and for people with disabiliti advances independent living and the rights of people with disabilities
Commonwealth of Massachusetts Statewide Independent Living Council (MASILC)
The Council is charged with monitoring, reviewing, and evaluating the implementation of the State Plan for Independent Living as well as Coordinating activities with the State Rehabilitation Advisory Council.
Center For Living And Working, Inc.
Worcester based provides one-to-one services to individuals in their homes throughout Central Massachusetts