Nursing & Medicine Research Guide: Overview - Best Links for Research

Cross-searches over 60 full text reference books with a single search. Find facts and background material, images, sound files, animations, videos and topic pages that organize research tools available for your topic. There is also a concept map, interactive software to map out and focus your chosen research topic.

Credo Health & Medicine Topic Pages

With one click, get encyclopedia summary articles, Mind Maps, charts and graphs, related articles, and more on your research topic!

Access Science - Medicine & Health Sciences by McGraw Hill provides access to more than 8500 articles and Research Reviews covering all major scientific disciplines and encompassing the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology; 115,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; 3000 biographies of well-known scientific figures; 18,000+ downloadable videos, images and animations illustrating key topics.

Research 101 - Getting Started in Library Research

Try the steps outlined in this guide for a simple and effective search strategy to find information for your research paper, project or presentation.

MedlinePlus Health Topics - read about symptoms, causes, treatment and prevention for over 1000 diseases, illnesses, health conditions and wellness issues. Provided by the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus health topics are regularly reviewed, and links are updated daily.

Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) Browser

Search the Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine

Besides Nursing, these are more generalized indexes devoted to Medical and Health topics:

• Science Direct  - A leading full-text scientific database from Elsevier offering almost 14 million journal articles from more than 3,800 peer-reviewed journals and book chapters from more than 35,000 books. Covers topics in the health & life sciences and the social & behavioral sciences.
• PsycINFO - from the American Psychological Association, over 1.5 million records from 1887 to the present in what is considered to be the most comprehensive international database of psychology. Includes academic research and practice literature in the fields of medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, social science and organizational behavior.
• Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic (EBSCO) - Designed for doctors, nurses, students, clinical specialists with access to 100 full text journals covering clinical medicine, nursing, health care system, etc. All 100 journals are also indexed in MEDLINE.
• Health Source: Consumer Edition - Full text database from EBSCO for nearly 300 journals in the areas of food and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, general health, Consumer Reports on Health, and Men's Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for 180 general health and professional health care publications.
• Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) - from Gale, provides access to over 2.5 million articles; can limit results to full text and/or peer reviewed titles.
• Health & Medical Collection - from Proquest, reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
• Psychology Database - This Gale database allows you to search the core literature in the field of psychology.
• Public Health Database - This Proquest database allows you to search the core literature in the field of public health.

MEDLINE OPTIONS:

Medline Plus - Drugs, Herbs & Supplements - learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.

MedlinePlus - AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.

DailyMed provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in the United States. DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This Web site provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.

Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed) The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs are provided, where appropriate. All data are derived from the scientific literature and fully referenced. A peer review panel reviews the data to assure scientific validity and currency.

Merck Manual Professional Version - First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Manual is one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers, with concise information on health topics, symptoms, emergencies, drug information with pill identifier, news & commentary, and other resources on common medical tests, medical terms, abbreviations, images and more!

PDR (Prescriber's Digital Reference) Drug Information - previously published as the Physician's Desk Reference, this site provide authoritative, comprehensive drug information including descriptions, dosage and indications, adverse reactions, interactions, pregnancy and lactation, and more.