Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture - 5 volumes, (c) 2000. Contains 2700 signed essays written by subject experts; includes bibliographies for more information. Also photos and cross references to related essays.
Contemporary Youth Culture: an International Encyclopedia
- Pop Culture Universe - Academic edition
A rich source that brings together concepts across related subjects, countries and time periods. Coverage includes film, television, business advertising and consumer culture, food & drink, sports, technology and media, clothing/fashion/appearance, visual arts and more. Has a collection of media, timelines, photos and videos, cultural documents, newspapers and magazines covering all aspects of popular culture from the 1900's to present day. Search by topic - limits by format of material, time periods, and other search possibilities.
Article Databases for Pop Culture
- Pop Culture Collection
Pop culture is all around us and influences our lives every day. From pop art, music and theater to reality TV, this focusedInfoTrac collection contains over 100 journals with access to over 3.6 million articles.
- Academic Search Complete
Scholarly and peer-reviewed articles (many full text) in an large multi-subject database, including coverage of popular culture from a variety of perspectives.
- Communication and Mass Media Complete
Quality research sources in areas related to communication and mass media
- MasterFILE Premier
Great for popular, contemporary topics. Full text for more than 1,700 general magazines covering a broad range of disciplines. Also contains full text for over 500 reference books, 164,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection.
- Lexis Nexis Full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options. Good place to find current topics in the news (via newspapers, news magazines, wire services, and news transcripts). Also locates movie and play reviews.
- Film and Television Literature Index (Ebsco)
Includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews