LibGuides: Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: Find Articles and more

Ask Us!

Ask a Librarian. Email, call, text, or chat. We are happy to help!

What is a Scholarly Journal?

A scholarly journal publishes authoritative articles by academics or experts in a discipline. The articles usually undergo peer-review, that is they are evaluated by other experts before publication.

For more on the different types of periodicals:

Distinguishing Scholarly from Non-Scholarly Periodicals: A Checklist of Criteria from Cornell University Library

Scholarly Journals vs. Popular Magazines Chart from Duke University Libraries

Search for Articles in WSU Online Databases

* Women’s Studies Abstracts 1974-2004, 2008-present

Print index to scholarly journals shelved in the Periodicals/Indexes area of the Library.

WSU Library Summon OneSearch
Search and discover library resources through one search engine. Includes books, ebooks, full-text articles, citations, media and more from WSU Library and beyond.

Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)
Collection covering journal articles on gender studies, sexual behavior surveys, family and marital issues, gay and lesbian rights, health aspects and many more.
Social Sciences Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS (International Bibliography of the Social Sciences), Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. Broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals and 7,000 books are included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles. Subject coverage: Anthropology, Archaeology, Cultural studies, Demography, Economics, Education, Ethnology and ethnography, Political science, Religious studies, Sociology

Sage Premier
Full-text journal collection, titles include: European Journal of Women's Studies; Feminism & Psychology: An International Journal; Feminist Theory: An International Interdisciplinary Journal; Gender & Society; Gender, Technology and Development; Humanity & Society; Indian Journal of Gender Studies; Men and Masculinities; Psychology of Women Quarterly; Sexualities: Studies in Culture and Society.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection
Multidisciplinary digital archive of scholarly journals. Arts & Sciences Collection I, II and IV
Archive Journal Collections:
Arts & Sciences I-XV
Business IV
Hebrew Journals
Ireland
Life Sciences
Lives of Literature
Public Health Journals
Security Studies
Sustainability
AND
Primary Source Collections:
19th Century British Pamphlets
World Heritage Sites: Africa
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Global Plants

*BPL eCard (FULL JSTOR & more)
The Boston Public Library (BPL) offers an eCard to residents of Massachusetts, to students who attend school or those who work in the Commonwealth. An eCard gives you immediate access to selected BPL Electronic Resources from your computer.

How to Get an Article

Browse Databases
A-Z list of all Research Databases available at WSU.
Find Publications
Search by Journal Title to identify which WSU Database has the full-text online.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
If it is not in the WSU Library, use the Article Request form to get digital photocopies of articles from other libraries.