Skip to main content

Faculty Services: Library Components for Syllabus

Library Resources or Services to consider for Syllabus

Suggested library syllabus language

(Longer version)
For research help, go to the Library! The Worcester State University Library (www.worcester.edu/library), located on the second and third floors of the Learning Resource Center, provides access to print materials and items on course reserve in addition to a wide variety of full-text online resources accessible both on- and off-campus, including e-books, journal articles, newspapers, and magazines. Articles and book chapters not available in full-text through the Library’s resources can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). With a little planning, ILL expands your ability to get credible sources about topics you pursue in your coursework. Additionally, as a member library of the ARC consortium (www.worcesterarc.org), WSU students can also access resources at other college libraries.

The librarians at WSU can help you develop research questions, identify research strategies, search for relevant and reliable information and data, select the best sources for your paper or project, and cite that information. A librarian can visit your class, meet with you in person (one-on-one or in groups), and provide assistance via email, phone, or chat. While every WSU Librarian is able to help students with a project in any discipline, each department has a designated librarian to support the research needs of the students in that department. You are welcome to stop by their office, or make an appointment! http://libguides.worcester.edu/askus

(Shorter version)
Need to do research but don't know where to start? Searching for a book, article, or data to support your argument? Not sure how to cite a source in your bibliography? Ask a librarian! Help is available via chat, email, phone, drop-in hours, or by appointment. http://libguides.worcester.edu/askus


Other suggestions for items to include in your syllabus

1. Your Liaison Librarian's Contact Information

    Liaison Librarians are designated for each academic department, center, and institute at WSU.

    Students are welcome to contact the liaison librarians for any questions about research resources and library services.

2. The Link to Relevant Subject Guide

  • There students can find comprehensive research resources related to the course subject including

            academic databases, books,  journals or professional internet resources.

  •  Professors are welcome to make comments or suggestions to improve the subject guides with the liaison librarians.

3. The Link to the library "Ask Us" Onsite/Online Service

    The librarians can be reached at

  • Research Help Desk in the library or
  • Online through Online Question Form or Online Chat Service

     to get help for library resources and services. 

4. The Link to the Library Research 101 Guide

    Library Research 101 is an introductory guide designed for the students not familiar with information literacy.

    The guide lists the following contents:

  • the research cycle
  • library databases for background information
  • information search tips and strategies
  • knowledge of citation and scholarly communication

5. New Interlibrary Loan Service

  •  The library launched the new Interlibrary Loan Service System in fall 2017.
  •  Everyone at WSU has an account in the system, and can track/manage all the requests. 
  •  The new system links to the library databases, and the request form can be automatically filled out if you directly use the "Request through Interlibrary Loan" button in the library databases.
  • The request will be processed immediately. It takes 2-3 days to deliver a journal article in PDF. It usually takes more than 1 week to deliver a print book.

6. Off-campus Access

    EZ-Proxy is the way we use to authorize the access to library E-Resources from off-campus.

    E-Resources include E-books, E-journals/magazines/newspapers and all the databases.