LibGuides: Faculty Services: Library Resources

How to Link to Library Resources

Proxy Server - to enable access to WSU resources from off-campus, add the following as a prefix to the url:

https://ezproxyworc.helmlib.org/login?url=

Persistent Links - to link to an individual journal title, article, or ebook, most databases provide a permanent url; look for: Permalink, Document Link, Document URL, Record URL or other designation.

Library Search Box Widgets

Many database vendors enable you to generate a code which creates a customized search box for one or more databases and can be copied and pasted into a webpage.

Students can then search library resources directly from your course website.

Include the library’s proxy server url for off-campus access: https://ezproxyworc.helmlib.org/login?url=

WSU Online Library Resources

WSU Databases
A to Z list of over 280 online research databases providing indexing and full-text of scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, ebooks, reference resources and media.
WSU Journal Finder
Search for current access to specific journal titles, or browse alphabetically by title or subject.
AccessScience - For Faculty
Curriculum Maps guide faculty to relevant and engaging content from throughout AccessScience for use in your course. These maps have been designed by leading science and engineering faculty, who have carefully selected useful content, such as tables, graphs, diagrams, photos, animations, and videos, and then mapped that content to the standard topics taught within each course.
Easily incorporate this content into your curriculum by using the “Copy Link” functionality to paste a direct link into your school's learning management system.
EBSCO Support Services
User guides, tutorials, and a search box builder to add a widget to a webpage. Information about creating a personal account to manage your research.
Encyclopedia Britannica Library
Start here for background information on most topics from the web version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. Includes links to resources for Children and Young Adults, encyclopedias in Spanish, Biographies, Compare Countries, Tour the USA and more.
LexisNexis Academic Knowledge Center
Curriculum-Based Research Guides, How-to guides, Video tutorials, Academic URLs with durable links, widgets and more.
Proquest MyResearch Tools
Includes the option to create a widget and add a search box to a webpage. Information about creating a personal account to manage your research.
Sage Journals Podcasts and Vodcasts
SAGE podcasts and vodcasts span a wide range of subject areas including business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology, and medicine. Podcasts and vodcasts are designed to act as teaching tools, providing further insight into the content through editor and author commentaries and interviews with special guests.

Open Archives, Conferences, Dissertations

OAIster by OCLC
Union catalog of millions of records for digital open access resources from collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH); freely-accessible through WorldCat.org from OCLC (Online Computer Library Center, Inc.)
Contains digital resources from open archive collections. Represents multidisciplinary resources from more than 1,100 contributors worldwide. Records contain a digital object link allowing users access to the object in a single click. Digital resources including:
digitized books and articles
born-digital texts
audio files
images
movies
datasets

Collections including:
Theses
Technical reports
Research papers
Image collections
PapersFirst by OCLC
Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
ProceedingsFirst by OCLC
An index of worldwide conference proceedings.
Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference.
WorldCatDissertations by OCLC
All dissertations, theses and published material based on theses cataloged by OCLC members, including all subjects.
EBSCO Open Dissertations
Created from a collaboration between EBSCO and BiblioLabs, EBSCO Open Dissertations™ is a new, free electronic theses and dissertations database offering access to more than 800,000 ETDs. Currently, more than 30 institutions from four continents are currently participating in the project, with ETD's from the U.K. predominating, but this number is expected to grow over time and diversify the collection.