Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research 101 - Getting Started in Library Research
Try the steps outlined in this guide for a simple and effective search strategy to find information for your research paper, project or presentation.
One Search for WSU Library Materials
Start Here for Sociology Research
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923 — each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
Global Issues (Gale In Context)
GIC offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Topic and country portals bring together relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each gateway page includes an overview, "perspectives" articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information plus multimedia including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Multimedia coverage of contemporary social issues including viewpoint essays, reference resources, statistics. primary sources, news, magazines and academic journals.
Social Sciences Premium Collection
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS (International Bibliography of the Social Sciences), Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Sociology Database (1985 - current)
This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.