LibGuides: Psychology: International & Private Foundation Sites

International Information Sources & Organizations

World Factbook (CIA)
The World Factbook provides basic intelligence on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, environment, communications, transportation, military, terrorism, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
United Nations iLibrary
The United Nations iLibrary is the comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations. It provides access to publications, journals, data, and series published by the United Nations Secretariat, its funds and programs, covering the Organization’s priorities, such as international peace and security, human rights, sustainable development, climate change, and international law. Content is organized by series title, publication year and alphabetically, with search and discovery of complete publications and their component chapters and articles.
more...less...
The content is accessible in different formats, PDF and READ.Titles cover the following topics:
Agriculture Rural Development and Forestry
Children and Youth
Democracy and Governance
Disarmament
Drugs, Crime and Terrorism
Economic and Social Development
Environment and Climate Change
Human Rights and Refugees
Human Settlements and Urban Issues
International Law and Justice
International Trade and Finance
Migration
Natural Resources, Water and Energy
Peacekeeping and Security
Population and Demography
Public Health
Transportation and Public Safety
United Nations
Women and Gender Issues
World Health Organization - WHO
Working through offices in more than 150 countries, WHO staff work side by side with governments and other partners to ensure the highest attainable level of health for all people. Their primary role is to direct and coordinate international health within the United Nations’ system. Their main areas of work are: Health systems; Promoting health through the life-course; Noncommunicable diseases; Communicable diseases; Corporate services; Preparedness, surveillance and response.
WHO Institutional Repository for Resource Sharing (IRIS)
WHO global digital library - online access to WHO published material
WHO Environmental Health
An estimated 12.6 million deaths each year are attributable to unhealthy environments - nearly one in four of total global deaths. Environmental risk factors, such as air, water and soil pollution, chemical exposures, climate change and ultraviolet radiation, contribute to more than 100 diseases and injuries. By focusing on reducing environmental and social risk factors, nearly a quarter of the global burden of disease can be prevented. Provides Infographics, statistics, factsheets, and other publications
USAID Global Health
"USAID’s mission statement highlights two complementary and intrinsically linked goals: ending extreme poverty and promoting the development of resilient, democratic societies that are able to realize their potential. "
more...less...
USAID invests in ideas that work to improve the lives of millions of men, women and children by:
--Investing in agricultural productivity so countries can feed their people
--Combating maternal and child mortality and deadly diseases like HIV, malaria and tuberculosis
--Providing life-saving assistance in the wake of disaster
--Promoting democracy, human rights and good governance around the world
--Fostering private sector development and sustainable economic growth
--Helping communities adapt to a changing environment
--Elevating the role of women and girls throughout all our work
Global Health Observatory
The Global Health Observatory theme pages provide data and analyses on global health priorities. Each theme page provides information on global situation and trends highlights, using core indicators, database views, major publications and links to relevant web pages on the theme.
Environment at a Glance
Environment at a Glance Indicators provide real-time interactive on-line access to the latest comparable OECD-country data on the environment from the OECD Core Set of Environmental Indicators – a tool to evaluate environmental performance in countries and to track the course towards sustainable development.
more...less...
The web version allows users to play with the data and graphics, download and share them, and consult and download thematic web-books. These indicators provide key messages on major environmental trends in areas such as climate change, biodiversity, water resources, air quality, circular economy and ocean (forthcoming). They will be accompanied by a short Environment at a Glance report that presents a digest of the key messages stemming from the indicators.
2019 release of ICD-10-CM
The ICD-10 is used to code and classify mortality data from death certificates, having replaced ICD-9 for this purpose as of January 1, 1999. ICD-10-CM is the replacement for ICD-9-CM, volumes 1 and 2, effective October 1, 2015.
more...less...
The ICD-10 is copyrighted by the World Health Organization (WHO), which owns and publishes the classification. WHO has authorized the development of an adaptation of ICD-10 for use in the United States for U.S. government purposes.
Global Registry of Fossil Fuel Emissions and Reserves
The Global Registry of Fossil Fuels is an open, transparent repository of data on fossil fuel production worldwide, expressed in terms of its embedded carbon dioxide emissions.... [It is] a centralised tool for transparency on fossil fuel supply. It brings together thousands of government and corporate data sources into one place in a fully open source manner, from the global right down to the individual project level. (From the website)
more...less...
The Global Registry converts this data into its carbon dioxide equivalent, using a first-of-its-kind, rigorously peer reviewed, open source CO2 emissions model that is able to provide a reliable assessment of the amount of CO2 embedded in fossil fuel production based on the unique features of each country. It:
-- Aggregates data into a comprehensive open-source database, drawing from government and private-sector sources;
-- Includes both country-level and project level data - project-level is important as this is where decision-making happens and liability is incurred;
--Integrates reserves, production, and emissions data with third-party scenarios to provide essential data for policymakers and others to make 1.5°C aligned production decisions;
--Includes life-cycle emissions from fossil fuel projects for both carbon dioxide and methane.
-- Contains data for over 50,000 fields in 89 countries representing projects covering 75% of global production.
-- Ranks countries based on absolute emissions and emissions intensities
-- Establishes an evolving database to serve as a trusted, policy-neutral tool to manage carbon budgets.
-- Has been reviewed by a technical committee of experts, and will be open for scrutiny and suggestions to ensure it remains as robust and useful as possible.
(From the website)

Private Organizations and Foundations

Worcester Regional Research Bureau
The Worcester Regional Research Bureau serves the public interest of Greater Worcester by conducting independent, non-partisan research and analysis of public policy issues to promote informed public debate and decision-making. Professional reports.of municipal, regional, and state-wide issues are examined in the areas of Economic Development, Municipal Finance, Public Education, and Public Administration
Kaiser Family Foundation
The Kaiser Foundation is a non-partisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public — from the most sophisticated policy research, to basic facts and numbers, to in depth health policy news coverage provided by their news service. Great source for graphic and interactive materials, fact charts and slides.
more...less...
The Kaiser Foundation is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Unlike grant-making foundations, Kaiser develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations.
Pew Research Center - Science
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions.
New York Academy of Medicine - Grey Literature Report
The Fourth International Conference on Grey Literature (GL '99) in Washington, DC, in October 1999 defined grey literature as follows: "That which is produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats, but which is not controlled by commercial publishers." The report is a publication produced by the The New York Academy of Medicine between 1999 - 2016, alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected urban health topics. As of January 2017, the Grey Literature Report website and database will be discontinued and will no longer be updated, but the resources will still be accessible. Grey Literature resources are cataloged and indexed using MeSH. The database allows full text keyword searching as well as subject searching and serves as an archive for the Reports.
PeriStats - Maternal and Infant Health Data
PeriStats was developed by the March of Dimes Perinatal Data Center and provides access to maternal and infant health data for the United States and by state or region, including more than 60,000 graphs, maps, and tables
HEET - Massachusetts Gas Leak Maps
Every year, Massachusetts utilities report the location of gas leaks in their territories to the Department of Public Utilities. HEET uses the reports to create the maps and information on this website. Use these maps to zoom in on your home, school, or business to find local gas leaks.

Psychology: International & Private Foundation Sites

International Information Sources & Organizations

Private Organizations and Foundations

Kaiser Foundation News Releases