If the WSU library doesn't have what you need, consider the following resources:
Elsevier's Dictionary of Psychological Theories by
The dictionary contains terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts.
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology by
Provides biographical information and critical analysis of the influences and reception of people who have made a significant contribution to the field of psychology.
The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology by
This updated edition explores the latest developments in psychology, psychiatry and related fields, including new material on neuroscience and social psychology.
A Student's Dictionary of Psychology and Neuroscience by 
The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science by
Provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of psychology, from Acquired Drives to Z-score, from conduct disorders to shamanism.
Encyclopedia of Consciousness by
Encompasses a summary of major research and scientific thought regarding the nature of consciousness, the neural circuitry involved, how the brain, body, and world interact, and our understanding of subjective states.
Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology by
Presents entries grouped into 8 thematic topic areas, and on a range of levels from brief definitions to more substantial discussions which allow the reader to obtain a fuller grasp of important terms and concepts.
Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology by
An authoritative publication that reviews and evaluates the numerous applications of professional psychology.
Key Concepts in Health Psychology
Aims to provide the reader with a comprehensive understanding of the key issues, theories, models, and methods in contemporary health psychology.
Dictionary of Forensic Psychology by
Entries (of between 500 and 1500 words) on key terms and concepts in forensic psychology arranged alphabetically.
The Edinburgh International Encyclopaedia of Psychoanalysis by
Contains authoritative entries on all the most important authors, practitioners, concepts, movements, schools, debates and controversies in psychoanalysis and its offspring, past and present.
The Oxford Handbook of Meditation by
Meditation techniques, including mindfulness, have become popular wellbeing practices and the scientific study of their effects has recently turned 50 years old. But how much do we know about them: what were they developed for and by whom? How similar or different are they, how effective can they be in changing our minds and biology, what are their social and ethical implications?The Oxford Handbook of Meditation is the most comprehensive volume published on meditation, written in accessible language by world-leading experts on the science and history of these techniques. It covers the development of meditation across the world and the varieties of its practices and experiences. It includes approaches from various disciplines, including psychology, neuroscience, history, anthropology, and sociology and it explores its potential for therapeutic and socialchange, as well as unusual or negative effects.Edited by practitioner-researchers, this book is the ultimate guide for all interested in meditation, including teachers, clinicians, therapists, researchers, or anyone who would like to learn more about this topic.
Psychological Statistics by
Psychological Statistics: The Basics walks the reader through the core logic of statistical inference and provides a solid grounding in the techniques necessary to understand modern statistical methods in the psychological and behavioral sciences. This book is designed to be a readable account of the role of statistics in the psychological sciences. Rather than providing a comprehensive reference for statistical methods, Psychological Statistics: The Basics gives the reader an introduction to the core procedures of estimation and model comparison, both of which form the cornerstone of statistical inference in psychology and related fields. Instead of relying on statistical recipes, the book gives the reader the big picture and provides a seamless transition to more advanced methods, including Bayesian model comparison. Psychological Statistics: The Basics not only serves as an excellent primer for beginners but it is also the perfect refresher for graduate students, early career psychologists, or anyone else interested in seeing the big picture of statistical inference. Concise and conversational, its highly readable tone will engage any reader who wants to learn the basics of psychological statistics.
Handbook of Research Ethics in Psychological Science by
This handbook offers a rich, thorough, authoritative discussion of the ethical issues in conducting research with human participants.
The Field Study in Social Psychology by
This unique book offers a comprehensive introduction to field studies as a research method in social psychology, demonstrating that field studies are an important element of contemporary social psychology, and encourages its usage in a methodologically correct and ethical manner. The authors demonstrate that field studies are an important and a much-needed element of contemporary social psychology and that abandoning this method would be at a great loss for the field. Examining successful examples of field studies, including those by Sherif and Sherif, studies of obedience by Hofling, or the studies of stereotypes of the Chinese by LaPiere, they explore the advantages and limitations of the field study method, whilst offering practical guidance on how it can be used in experiments now and in the future. Covering the history and decline of the field study method, particularly in the wake of the replication crisis, the text argues for the revival the field study method by demonstrating the importance of studying the behaviour of subjects in real life, rather than laboratory conditions. In fact, the results point to certain variables and research phenomena that can only be captured using field studies. In the final section, the authors also explain the methods to follow when conducting field studies, to make sure they are methodologically correct and meet the criteria of contemporary expectations regarding statistical calculations, while also ensuring that they are conducted ethically. This is an essential reading for graduate and undergraduate students and academics in social psychology taking courses on methodology, and researchers looking to use field study methods in their research.
Big Ideas Simply Explained: The Psychology Book
Clearly explaining more than 100 groundbreaking ideas in the field, The Psychology Book uses accessible text and easy-to-follow graphics and illustrations to explain the complex theoretical and experimental foundations of psychology.
Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine by
This third edition of the much acclaimed Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine offers a fully up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for doctors, health care professionals, mental health care professionals (such as psychologists, counsellors, specialist nurses), academics, researchers, and students specializing in health across all these fields. The new streamlined structure of the book features brief section overviews summarising the state of the art of knowledge on the topic to make the information easier to find. The encyclopaedic aspects of the Handbook have been retained; all the entries, as well as the extensive references, have been updated. Retaining all the virtues of the original, this edition is expanded with a range of new topics, such as the effects of conflict and war on health and wellbeing, advancements in assisted reproduction technology, e-health interventions, patient-reported outcome measures, health behaviour change interventions, and implementing changes into health care practice.
The Oxford Handbook of Eating Disorders by
Divided into four sections--"Phenomenology and Epidemiology," "Approaches to Understanding the Eating Disorders," "Assessment and Comorbidity of the Eating Disorders," "Prevention and Treatment"--the chapters look at classification, research, and treatment/prevention issues involving disturbed eating patterns (anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, binge-eating disorder, purging disorders, night-eating syndrome, and "eating disorders not otherwise specified").
An Introduction to Psychological Tests and Scales by
This text is a vital resource for those with little or no prior knowledge of computing or statistics to aid in the development of reliable and valid tests and scales for assessment or research purposes. It serves as a clear, concise and jargon-free primer for all those embarking in fieldwork or research analysis. The book contains detailed guidelines for locating and constructing psychological measures, including descriptions of popular psychological measures and step-by-step instructions for composing a measure, entering data, and computing reliability and validity of test results. Advanced techniques such as factor analysis, analysis of covariance, and multiple regression analysis are presented for the beginner. This new edition has been revised throughout and includes updated statistical test procedures in line with the new version of SPSS and the inclusion of current academic articles. It serves as an invaluable resource for undergraduates and postgraduates across the behavioral and social sciences, as well as professionals in related disciplines, including those working in management and medical sciences.
Handbook of the Psychology of Aging by
Handbook of the Psychology of Aging, Ninth Edition tackles both the biological and environmental influences on behavior and the reciprocal interface between changes in the brain and behavior that span the adult lifespan. This information is very important to many features of daily life, from workplace to family, and in public policy matters. It is complex and new questions are continually raised about how behavior changes with age. Providing perspectives on the behavioral science of aging for diverse disciplines, the handbook explains how the role of behavior is organized and how it changes over the course of life. Along with parallel advances in research methodology, it explicates in great detail, patterns and sub-patterns of behavior over the lifespan, and how it affects biological, health and social interactions. Covers preclinical neuropathology Examines age and sex differences in the process of aging Considers financial decision-making and capacity Explores mental health issues related to death and dying Discusses technology for older adults.
The Cambridge Handbook of Sociocultural Psychology by
Sociocultural psychology is a discipline located at the crossroads between the natural and social sciences and the humanities. This international overview of the field provides an antireductionist and comprehensive account of how experience and behaviour arise from human action with cultural materials in social practices. The outcome is a vision of the dynamics of sociocultural and personal life in which time and developmental constructive transformations are crucial. This second edition provides expanded coverage of how particular cultural artefacts and social practices shape experience and behaviour in the realms of art and aesthetics, economics, history, religion and politics. Special attention is also paid to the development of identity, the self and personhood throughout the lifespan, while retaining the emphasis on experience and development as key features of sociocultural psychology
The Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behavior by
There has recently been an escalated interest in the interface between psychology and economics. The Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behaviour is a valuable reference dedicated to improving our understanding of the economic mind and economic behaviour. Employing empirical methods - including laboratory and field experiments, observations, questionnaires and interviews - the Handbook provides comprehensive coverage of theory and method, financial and consumer behaviour, the environment and biological perspectives. This second edition also includes new chapters on topics such as neuroeconomics, unemployment, debt, behavioural public finance, and cutting-edge work on fuzzy trace theory and robots, cyborgs and consumption. With distinguished contributors from a variety of countries and theoretical backgrounds, the Handbook is an important step forward in the improvement of communications between the disciplines of psychology and economics that will appeal to academic researchers and graduates in economic psychology and behavioral economics.-- Provided by Publisher.
Cambridge Handbook of Computational Psychology by
This book is a definitive reference source for the growing, increasingly more important, and interdisciplinary field of computational cognitive modeling, that is, computational psychology.
Cambridge Handbook of Consciousness by
Provides a comprehensive survey of the exciting field of consciousness.
Handbook of Forensic Psychology: Resource for Mental Health and Legal Professionals by
Provides professionals with current, practical, and empirically based information to guide their work in forensic settings.
Digital Detox: Why Taking a Break from Technology Can Improve Your Well-Being by 
The Case Against Conversion Therapy by
Summary: "Many LGBTQ youth are still forced into harmful "treatments" with devastating mental health consequences. This volume explores the history, effects, and danger of so-called conversion therapy. Because conversion "therapy" is not actually therapeutic, it is now more accurately referred to as sexual orientation change efforts (SOCE) or gender identity change efforts (GICE). What does the record show about the efficacy and effects of SOCE and GICE? What motivates individuals to seek these harmful treatments, either for themselves or for their children? This book synthesizes findings from a vast literature base to answer these and other important questions, in hopes of fully discrediting SOCE and GICE once and for all. Over the last four decades, considerable research has showed SOCE to be not only ineffective, but harmful. As a result of these findings, professional organizations such as the American Psychological Association (APA) have denounced the practice and recommended affirmative, supportive treatment instead. Although SOCE have been widely discredited, they remain legal in most states and continue to be practiced with lesbian, gay, and bisexual children and adolescents. Furthermore, as the past 20 years have seen an increase in gender nonconforming and transgender individuals, there has been a similar rise in efforts to socially reprogram gender nonconforming children and adolescents. This volume is grounded in the principle long embraced by the scientific and healthcare communities-that same-sex attraction and gender nonconformity are not signs of psychopathology. Rather, sexual and gender minority individuals should be supported in embracing their own identities. This affirmative approach to practice with sexual and gender minorities is consistent with decades of APA policy and ethics"-- Provided by publisher.
Ethics and Law for School Psychologists by
Summary: "The premier text for ethical and legal issues associated with school-based psychological practice Ethics and Law for School Psychologists is the single best source of authoritative information on the ethical and legal issues school psychologists face every day. Designed specifically to meet the unique needs of psychologists in school settings, this book includes the most up-to-date standards and requirements while providing an introduction to ethical codes, ethical decision making, and the legal underpinnings that protect the rights of students and their parents. This new seventh edition has been extensively updated with the latest research and changes to the law, with an increased focus on ethical-legal considerations associated with the use of digital technologies. Coverage includes new case law on privacy rights, electronic record keeping, the 2014 Standards for Educational and Psychological Testing, digital assessment platforms, the latest interpretations of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, and more. Ethics texts for counseling and psychology are plentiful, and often excellent--but this book is the only reference that speaks directly to the concerns and issues specific to psychologists in school settings. Case vignettes, end-of-chapter questions, and discussion topics facilitate deeper insight and learning, while updated instructor's resources bring this key reference right into the classroom. Get up to date on the latest research and professional literature Consider new issues surrounding the use of digital technologies Update your knowledge of case law and federal education law Understand the ethical issues surrounding school psychological practice Keeping up with the latest research and legal issues is a familiar part of a psychologist's duties, but a practice centered on children in an educational setting makes it both critical and more complex. Ethics and Law for School Psychologists provides a central resource for staying up to date and delivering ethically and legally sound services within a school setting"-- Provided by publisher.
Psychology in Southeast Asia by
Despite diverse, rich cultural traditions and abundant economic opportunity, there has been a paucity of research on psychology in Southeast Asia. This book aims to fill that gap, with a series of well-written theoretical and empirical chapters by PhD psychologists in SE Asia along with respected international colleagues and co-authors from around the globe. In particular this book focuses upon critical sociocultural, clinical, and health issues and perspectives in psychology in Southeast Asia. Overviews help contextualize the cultural data, permitting nuanced examination of significant psychological issues in nations such as Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, Singapore, and more. Psychologists and mental health professionals with interests in Asia will find this book to be a must-read, as will other readers seeking to deepen their cultural and international understanding.
Psychological, Social, and Cultural Aspects of Internet Addiction by
This book investigates the relationship between psycho-social variables and internet addiction. Human-computer interaction, academic performance, and online behavior are among the topics discussed.
Modern Psychometrics by
"Testing and assessment occurs throughout our lives, from schooling and employment to applying for a mortgage or credit. Psychometrics is the science of how to maximize the quality of such assessments."--BOOK JACKET. "In Part one of Modern Psychometrics Rust and Golombok outline the history of this field and discuss central theoretical issues such as personality and integrity testing and the impact of computer technology. In Part two a practical step-by-step guide to the development of a psychometric test is provided. This will enable anyone wishing to develop their own test to plan, design, construct and validate it to a professional standard."--BOOK JACKET.
Key Thinkers in Psychology by
Contributes to understanding the classic scholars, the classic studies, and the subsequent generations of people and ideas that have come to define the broad discipline that is psychology.
Frontier Struggles: Rollo May and the Little Band of Psychologists Who Saved Humanism by
Frontier Struggles provides the first in-the-trenches account of how Rollo May and his ragtag band of New York psychologists in the early 1950s repeatedly beat back the medical lobby's attempts to legislatively reduce the human condition to biology and create a monopoly on psychotherapy.
Understanding Mental Health and Mental Illness: an exploration of the past, present, and future by
Contents:
Introduction -- Prehistory -- The Mythological Era -- The Classical Era -- The Middle Ages -- The Renaissance -- The Enlightenment -- The Modern Age -- The Postmodern Age -- The Twenty-First Century -- Now and Into the Future.
Summary:
"The question of whether someone is psychologically healthy or mentally ill, and the fundamental nature of mental health underlying that question has been debated in cultural, academic, and clinical settings for millennia. This book provides an overview of how people have conceptualized and understood mental illness through the ages. The book begins by looking at mental illness in humanity's evolutionary past then moves through the major historical epochs: the mythological, the Classical, the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, the Enlightenment, and Modern, and the Post-modern. At each point, it focuses on major elements that emerged regarding how people judged sanity and insanity and places major emphasis on the growing fields of psychiatry and psychology as they emerged and developed. As the book moves into the Twenty-First century, Dr. Jenkins presents his Integrated Model of knowledge, a systemic, holistic model of the psyche that creates a conceptual foundation for understanding both psychological wellness and disorder and approaching assessment and diagnosis. This text provides a valuable exploration of mental health and illness across the ages and gives those already well-versed in the subject matter a fresh perspective on the past and new model of knowledge and assessment for the future"-- Provided by publisher
Latina/o American Health and Mental Health: Practices and Challenges by
Essential reading for health and mental health administrators, community agencies, and policy makers as well as students and general interest readers, this book details the state of the physical and mental health of many Latina/o American groups.
While Latina/o Americans originate from more than 25 countries, most health or mental health texts largely focus on Mexican Americans and often fail to address other Latina/o groups, such as South Americans, Central Americans, Puerto Ricans, and others. Moreover, most works address either health or mental health, but not both together. In contrast, Latina/o American Health and Mental Health addresses both the health and mental health of diverse Latina/o heritage groups.
An interdisciplinary approach enables readers to identify both similar and divergent areas that affect the health and mental health of Latina/o Americans. Strengths-based and social justice perspectives, rather than a deficit perspective, guide the work in its assessment of disparities among treatment for different groups.
This text is ideal for graduate students, practitioners, researchers, and policy makers in public health, community health, family studies, psychology, counseling, social work, and Latina/o studies who are interested in understanding Latina/o health and mental health in the United States and providing culturally responsive services.
Introduction to Aging by
The second edition of this engaging text reflects a welcome new paradigm for aging—that of aging as a positive stage of life. Written for undergraduate and masters-level students, it provides an interdisciplinary perspective on the wide variety of subject areas within gerontology, and combines research with engrossing narratives, new trends, and controversial topics. Substantially updated, the second edition features integrated content on the diversity of the aging population. State-of-the-art information includes new science on the biology of aging; chronic conditions; integrated care; changing roles for older adults; new demographics; and critical policy issues. The second edition examines career opportunities in gerontology and includes Practical Applications and Student Activities, new scenarios, and many more charts and graphs. Qualified instructors have access to supplementary material, including PowerPoint slides, a test bank, and an instructor’s manual. Key Features: Conceptualizes a positive approach to aging, with an emphasis on the advantages and opportunities presented by the large and growing number of older Americans Delivers comprehensive, interdisciplinary coverage of aging topics Dispels negative myths about aging Engages the reader with vivid narratives and thought-provoking activities Offers a broad range of subject areas in the field, from biological aging processes, to economics and living arrangements Provides instructor’s manual, PowerPoint slides, and test bank for additional learning Includes access to student activities answer key New to the Second Edition: Presents a new chapter on careers in aging, which explores expanding opportunities Explores new and updated demographics Includes new information on personality, palliative care, age-friendly communities, homelessness, social networks, Medicaid, and more Presents a new approach to elder abuse focusing on solutions to social isolation, a major cause of abuse.
The Psychology of Eating Disorders by
Offers a clear, concise, up-to-date introduction to eating disorders for students in the health professions This is a concise, accessible introduction to eating disorders for undergraduate and graduate students in psychology, as well as those specializing in health education and nutrition. Easy to read and grounded in DSM-5 definitions and the most up-to-date research, the text is designed for students in the health professions as well as health professionals seeking a basic understanding of the challenges associated with their diagnoses and treatment. Written by a licensed psychologist and certified eating disorders specialist, the book describes what eating disorders are and are not, who is likely to develop them, and signs and symptoms of specific disorders. It discusses biological, medical, psychological, interpersonal, and socio-cultural risk factors, and helps the reader to identify those who are at risk for experiencing an eating disorder and how to refer them for evaluation. Scenarios reflect the wide spectrum of people who suffer from eating disorders including young and old, male and female, and athlete and non-athlete. Uniquely, the book also covers the range of reactions someone—including treatment providers—can have to an individual diagnosed with an eating disorder. The text also delivers strategies for treatment and prevention, with overviews of their effectiveness. Print version of the book includes free, searchable, digital access to its entire contents. Key Features: Provides an easy-to-read introduction to the full range of eating disorders Discusses risk factors and warning signs of eating disorders Discusses evidence-based treatment approaches and prevention Considers long-term effects of eating disorders Includes illustrative narratives of diverse individuals with EDs Authored by a certified eating disorders specialist
Trauma-Informed Approaches to Eating Disorders by
Delivers a proven treatment model for clinicians in all orientations This unique, hands-on clinical guide examines the significant relationship between trauma, dissociation, and eating disorders and delivers a trauma-informed phase model that facilitates effective treatment of individuals with all forms of eating disorders. It describes, step-by-step, a four-phase treatment model encompassing team coordination, case formulation, and a trauma-informed, dissociation- and attachment-sensitive approach to treating eating disorders. Edited by noted specialists in eating and other behavioral health disorders, Trauma-Informed Approaches to Eating Disorders examines eating disorders from neurological, medical, nutritional, and psychological perspectives. Dedicated chapters address each treatment phase from a variety of orientations, ranging from EMDR and CBT to body-centered and creative therapies. The book also reveals the effectiveness of a multifaceted, phase model approach. Recognizing the potential pitfalls and traps of treatment and recovery, it also includes abundant psychoeducational tools for the client. KEY FEATURES: Examines eating disorders from neurological, medical, nutritional, and psychological perspectives Highlights the relationship between trauma, dissociation, and eating disorders Maps out a proven, trauma-informed, four-phase model for approaching trauma treatment in general and eating disorders specifically Elucidates the approach from the perspectives of EMDR therapy, ego state therapy, somatosensory therapy, trauma-focused CBT, and many others Provides abundant psychoeducational tools for the client to deal with triggers and setbacks Offers the knowledge and expertise of over 20 international researchers, medical professionals, and clinicians
Key Concepts in Sport Psychology
Positive Psychology by
This book provides an accessible and balanced introduction to positive psychology scholarship and its applications, incorporating an overview of the development of positive psychology. Positive Psychology: The Basics delineates positive psychology's journey as a discipline, takes stock of its achievements and provides an updated overview of its core topics, exploring the theory, research and interventions in each. Launched as a rebellious discipline just over two decades ago, positive psychology challenged the emphasis of applied psychology on disease and dysfunction and offered a new, more balanced perspective on human life. From its foundations in the late 20th century to recent "second-wave" theories around the importance of recognizing negative emotions, this compact overview covers the key ideas and principles, from research around emotional wellbeing, optimism and change, to posttraumatic growth and positive relationships. The first jargon-free introduction to the subject, Hart introduces the reader to a range of issues, including self-regulation and flow, character strengths and virtues and positive relationships, concluding with a chapter on how interventions can affect happiness and wellbeing. Positive Psychology: The Basics is an essential resource for students, practitioners, academics and anyone who is interested in understanding the essence of a life well lived.