Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
50 Quotes from Casablanca
- Here's looking at you, kid.
- Of all the gin joints, in all the towns, in all the world, she walks into mine.
- We'll always have Paris.
- Round up the usual suspects
- Not an easy day to forget.” “…I remember every detail. The Germans wore gray, you wore blue.”
News Sources and General, Multidisciplinary Databases
JSTOR is a large collection of full text journals in disciplines across the Humanities and Social Sciences. Because many of the journals go back to the teens and twenties, and even earlier, this database can provide contemporary references to early film
Lexis Nexis Academic
LexisNexis is now NexisUni, with a more user friendly search interface. Full-text documents from 10,000 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options
Full text for more than 40 U.S. and International newspapers, 389 U.S. regional newspapers. Also provides full text TV and radio news transcripts.
Full-text of hundreds of U.S. and international news sources.
Business, Industry, and Marketplace
Getting financial data, film budgets, economic impact on a region, etc., often requires digging through news articles and a variety of sources. Here are some suggestions.
Business Insights: Essentials
Search by industry code, company name, or keywords to find business news articles, financials, company profiles, industry overviews, and rankings.
National Association of Theater Owners: Statistics
Providing numbers on admissions, ticket prices, circuits, etc.
This website culls numbers from a variety of sources. They provide numbers on things like DVD sales, estimated film production budgets, number of theaters showing films etc.
Core Article Databases for Film and Media Arts
Film Literature Index
FLI annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes material from 1921 to the present in disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts.
Pop Culture Universe
Over 300 full text volumes of authoritative, published content; thousands of images, hundreds of vetted and updated web links from ABC-CLIO
Popular Culture Collection
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Selected Web Sites
AFI: American Film Institute
Not as much about film itself on this site as there is at the BFI site, but details about the organization and its work. Also has its top 100 lists.
BFI: British Film Institute
Promotes the development of the arts of film, television and the moving image throughout the United Kingdom
An H-NET list for scholarly discussion of cinema history and uses of media.
National Film Preservation Foundation
Includes a directory of film archives in the U.S.A., lists of the films they have preserved
New York Times Movies
The Movies section at NYTimes.com includes reviews, articles, and trailers, a complete list of New York Times movie reviews dating back to 1983, selected reviews back to 1929, box-office charts and data for the U.S. and Canada, New York City and the U.K.
Voice of the Shuttle: Media Studies: Film/Video
An extensive listing of links related to film.
40 Quotes from The Princess Bride
- You fell victim to one of the classic blunders – The most famous of which is ‘never get involved in a land war in Asia’.
- I’ve got my country’s 500th anniversary to plan, my wedding to arrange, my wife to murder and Guilder to frame for it; I’m swamped.
- As you wish
- Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die