Skip to Main Content

Access Services: Circulation

Access Services include the departments for Circulation, Interlibrary Loan and Reserves.

Library Hours


A fine of 10 cents per book is charged for each day that a book is overdue. Fines are not calculated for days when the Library is closed, and fines do not exceed the cost of the book. Patrons are liable for the replacement cost for lost materials plus a $10 nonrefundable processing fee. If the material is returned within 6 months of the payment, a refund for the replacement cost (minus the processing charge and fines calculated from date due to the date returned) can be made.

Note: Students who have overdue materials or fines will have their borrowing privileges suspended 2 weeks after the fine notice. It is WSU policy that students (including former students) owing money to the Library will not be permitted to register for classes or to be issued a transcript. Accounts must be paid in full before we can clear you with the Registrar's Office.


Special Borrowing Cards

There are 2 categories for special borrowers due to our participation in 2 consortia:

  • WILL is a walk-in interlibrary loan arrangement with other Massachusetts state academic libraries, such as UMass Medical, Fitchburg State University, Quinsigamond Community College. Students need to have a valid OneCard.
  • ARC, the Academic Research Collaborative, is administered by the Central Massachusetts Regional Library System.  

Borrowers in the above categories are expected to comply with all regulations of the participating libraries. 

If you are a special borrower, the cards you're issued are not transferable and do not include borrowing privileges for non-print materials or the use of interlibrary loan services.


Circulation Desk

Circulation Desk

Whether you are a Worcester State University student, faculty (full-time or adjunct), administrator, or staff member, you may check out library materials with a valid WSU OneCard. You must present your OneCard to check out any item. 

If you're a student, you may borrow material only during the semester you are registered in courses. You can check out books for 28 days; one 28 day renewal is available. 

If you're a faculty member, you can check out books for the entire semester. 

Do not loan your OneCard to someone else to check out a book. You are responsible for all materials that are charged on your OneCard. If you lose it, notify the OneCard/Student Accounts Office to avoid unauthorized use of your card.

The Library's Circulation Desk is part of Access Services. 



Non-print items, such as videos/DVDs and audio compact discs, are housed in the Instructional Media Services in room L-207 down the corridor from the Circulation Desk. Length of circulation periods varies depending on format. For regulations, fines, and non-print reserves, consult with the staff in the IMS. A copy of the IMS policy is also available online.



Our faculty members often place additional required materials on reserve at the Circulation Desk. Loan periods are determined by the professor and items can circulate either for 24 hours, 3 days, or be restricted to use only within the Library for a 2-hour period. 

Fines for overdue reserves are 50 cents per hour  that the Library is open, including those only used within the Library. There is no limit on fines for reserve materials.A separate policy for reserve items is available.


Confidentiality (WSU Library Privacy)

The Circulation Department of the Worcester State University Library recognizes and respects the privacy of its patrons, whether students, faculty, staff, administrators, alumni or other borrowers. In a library setting, a user's right to privacy includes the freedom to inquire about any information without having their records open to others. Records are maintained solely for the purpose of protecting the material in the Library's collections. Unless fines or other exceptions occur, when a borrowed item is returned to us, all records are cleared and no history is maintained, either by item or by borrower. 

Furthermore, it is Library policy that we do not give out any information about patrons or the materials they have checked out or materials consulted. Law prohibits the staff from giving out any information regarding a person's library account to ANY other person regardless of their status or identity, without a subpoena, search warrant, or court order. 

The Library at Worcester State University supports and adheres to the American Library Association's "Policy on the Confidentiality of Library Records," adopted January 20, 1971 and revised July 4,1975, and July 2, 1986.

 PATRIOT ACT (privacy in libraries)


In-Person Renewals
Most library material circulates for 28 days. Items must be renewed on or before the due date. Fines must be paid before items can be renewed. There is a one-time renewal of 14 days from the original due date, and you can make the renewal in person with the items or online at the HELM online catalog

Online Renewals
Directions for renewing materials using the HELM online catalog:

  • Login to your account on the right-hand side of the HELM online catalog.
  • Displayed under the heading Charged Items, will be a list of all material that you have checked out along with the due dates. The material must be renewed on or before the due date. If the material is already overdue, the system will not permit a renewal.
  • A small box under the heading "Renew?" appears to the left of each title. Click inside the box next to each title you wish to renew. (If you make a mistake, just click again, and the check mark will disappear.)
  • After checking the titles, click on the box that reads Renew Items following the list of charged items.
  • When you have finished with your personal information screen, click the Logoff button in the top row of small buttons. This will clear your personal information from your web browser as well as the screen.

If you see "Not Renewed?" next to the item you have checked out, it may mean the following:

  • A hold may be placed by someone else on items you have checked out.
  • You have already renewed; there is a limit of only one renewal.


Subject Guide


Any Library patron may request an item already checked out to be held for them upon its return. You will be notified when the material has been returned, and it will be held for you for 1 week. You may also place a hold through the online catalog for any items that are checked out; the system will not allow a hold to be placed on an item whose status reads "not charged." 

If you cannot find a book on the shelf and the status in the catalog is listed as "not charged," please see a staff member at the Circulation Desk. The staff member can run a trace on the book to try and find it within the Library. If we cannot locate the book for you, you may place a request for it through the Interlibrary Loan Service, also located at the Circulation Desk.