A scholarly journal publishes authoritative research articles by academics or experts in a discipline. The articles usually undergo peer-review, that is they are evaluated by other experts before publication.
For more on the different types of periodicals:
Distinguishing Scholarly from Non-Scholarly Periodicals: A Checklist of Criteria from Cornell University Library
Why do I find only an abstract? The library's subscription doesn't always include every resource in a particular database. If you search a database and find only an abstract but want the entire article, you can request it through Interlibrary loan.
Please check the Historic Newspapers section at History & Political Science Subject Guide.
US Newsstream by ProQuest enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Full text for more than 40 U.S. and International newspapers, 389 U.S. regional newspapers. Also provides full text TV and radio news transcripts.
Canadian Newsstream by ProQuest provides unparalleled access to the full text of over 380 Canadian newspapers including the complete available electronic backfile for most newspapers, providing full access to the articles, columns, editorials and features published in each. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s.