An advocacy organization based in California, CHIRLA was founded in 1986 to advance the human and civil rights of immigrants and refugees. CHIRLA became a place for organizations and people who support human rights to work together for policies that advance justice and full inclusion for all immigrants. CHIRLA has since become one of the largest and most effective advocates for immigrant rights, organizing, educating and defending immigrants and refugees in the streets, in the courts, and in the halls of power.
The USCIS Office of Citizenship is mandated by the Homeland Security Act of 2002 (Pub. L. No. 107–296) to promote instruction and training on citizenship rights and responsibilities, including the development of educational materials. The mission of the Office of Citizenship is to provide federal leadership, tools, and resources to proactively foster immigrant integration. To facilitate this process, the Office of Citizenship engages and supports partners to welcome immigrants; promote English language learning and education on the rights and responsibilities of citizenship; and encourage U.S. citizenship.
From the Massachusetts Immigrant and Refugee Advocacy Coalition (MIRA): factsheets with key data and overviews of how major issues play out in Massachusetts, Massachusetts-specific resources and national and global data and reports.
American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys. Find popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community.
Intergovernmental body acting with its partners in the international community to assist in meeting the challenges of migration, advance understanding of migration issues, and uphold the dignity and well-being of migrants. Includes country synopses, publications such as the World Migration Reports, and a Data Portal for statistics.
The Migration Policy Institute is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide.
MPI provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at local, national, and international levels. It aims to meet the demand for pragmatic and thoughtful responses to the challenges and opportunities that large-scale migration, whether voluntary or forced, presents to communities and institutions in an increasingly integrated world.
The Urban Institute's research on immigrants and immigration spans four interconnected domains: federal, state, and local immigration enforcement and integration policy; refugees and international migration; immigrant children, families, and communities; and the immigrant workforce.
We explore these domains by understanding the quickly changing demographics of immigration and providing tools to allow practitioners and policymakers to find hard-to-access data relevant to their work; studying how to connect low-income immigrant families to vital supports such as human services programs and nonprofit providers, and investigating how to make those systems work better for immigrant families, particularly those with language barriers or undocumented status; and analyzing the impact of local, state, and federal policy and practice on the well-being and integration of communities, immigrant families, and workers.
Iandoli Desai & Cronin P.C. is a firm practicing exclusively in U.S. immigration law. The six attorney firm represents businesses, institutions and individuals on a wide range of U.S. immigration and nationality issues. Their website's News and Updates section is dedicated to weekly posts regarding current immigration law reform, upcoming events, and educational information on the immigration law process.
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
Nexis Uni™, the new interface for Lexis/Nexis, features more than 10,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923 — each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
Brings together both sides of 800 hot topics important to today's society. To help students, researchers, and readers understand the critical issues we face today, Issues & Controversies explores and analyzes hundreds of hot topics in politics, business, government, crime, law, energy, education, health, family, science, foreign policy, race, rights, society, and culture. Updated weekly, with a wire-service newsfeed providing the latest headline stories, Issues & Controversies offers in-depth articles designed to inspire thought-provoking debates and research papers.
In addition to its original articles, Issues & Controversies features breaking news from Reuters®; editorials and opinion pieces from the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlantic, and other major newspapers and magazines; and helpful background information, including the central pro/con arguments, essential primary documents, vital statistics, and chronologies of key events. Many articles include full-length videos from Intelligence Squared U.S. Debates—featuring leading authorities and experts debating the major issues of our time—which can be viewed in their entirety, by predefined segments, or with the help of a complete, searchable transcript. Selected key issues also feature original overview videos, enhanced lessons, and additional educator resources to introduce students to the topic and help instructors present the material. Curriculum Tools and other special features and listings offer guidance and ideas for integrating the content into instructional frameworks and research assignments.
Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to over 700 journals. Primarily periodicals, but includes academic journals, magazines, books, news and multimedia, covering law enforcement, paralegal topics, homeland security and all aspects of criminal justice.
A leading full-text scientific database offering almost 14 million journal articles from more than 3,800 peer-reviewed journals and book chapters from more than 35,000 books. Covers topics in the health & life sciences and the social & behavioral sciences.
A must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 250 journals. Primarily periodicals.
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. This Government, Politics & Law HeinOnline 18-database package offers special collections on Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law and Women and the Law among others.
JSTOR is an online archive of scholarly journals which contains high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Overall, it provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Archive Journal Collections:
Arts & Sciences I-XV
Business IV
Hebrew Journals
Ireland
Life Sciences
Lives of Literature
Public Health Journals
Security Studies
Sustainability
AND
Primary Source Collections:
19th Century British Pamphlets
World Heritage Sites: Africa
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Global Plants
Provides differing views on social issues along with supporting reference, periodicals, multimedia, statistics, and more. Formerly Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center.
The Public Affairs Information Service, PAIS, provides selected coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference papers, web content and more. PAIS International covers 1972 - present; PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976. While this title can be searched on its own, it's best to search it through the full-text ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection.
ProQuest Public Health delivers core public health literature with centralized access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text. With journals, news, trade publications, reports and more, ProQuest Public Health covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences and biological sciences to business. Journal results are indexed from core literature collected from a variety of publishers using appropriate public-health terminology.
American Journal of Public Health
Maternal and Child Health Journal
Journal of Health Care for the Poor and Underserved
AIDS Education and Prevention
Diabetes Care
Epidemiology and infection
Public Health Nutrition
The Lancet
New England Journal of Medicine
ProQuest Public Health also includes current newspaper articles for uncovering timely results on the latest breaking topics pertaining to public health, such as H1N1, disaster preparedness, and obesity.
9,000 full-text dissertations cover important scholarly topics such as Biostatistics, Environmental Health Sciences, Epidemiology, Health Services Administration, International Public Health, Maternal & Child Health, and Occupational Safety & Health.
ProQuest Public Health specializes on delivering focused and relevant results for the public health field, covering key subjects including:
Nutrition and Dietetics
Physical Fitness and Hygiene
Population Studies
Social Services and Welfare
Statistics
Biology - Genetics
Drug Abuse and Alcoholism
Special Education and Rehabilitation
Environmental Studies
Industrial Health and Safety
Communicable Diseases
Allergology and Immunology
Nurses and Nursing
Pediatrics
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS (International Bibliography of the Social Sciences), Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. This new database merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience
--DACA Quarterly data This report contains information on requests for consideration of deferred action for childhood arrivals. The cumulative number of requests accepted for processing, biometrics appointments scheduled, requests ready for review and requests completed to-date are displayed.
