Start your topic research in Health & Medicine with an encyclopedic or similar resource from Credo Reference!
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research by
This classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content that reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment is featured. This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research
Named a "Choice Outstanding Academic Title" for 2007 and an "AJN Book of the Year", The award-winning Encyclopedia of Nursing Research, now in its third edition, is the comprehensive resource for tracking developments in the field. With over 20 new areas of research, and meticulous updates of original entries, the encyclopedia presents key terms and concepts and their application to practice.
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health
This fully updated third edition of this award-winning title covers topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment
Key Concepts in Nursing
Provides a much needed guide to the central topics and debates which shape nursing theory, policy and contemporary practice.
Nursing Leadership
A single comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators, Nursing Leadership is the only compendium of nursing terminology in existence. Written by eminent nursing professionals, it provides descriptions of prominent individuals in nursing, information regarding nine leadership-related topics, and current trends in nurse leadership.
Brain Book: An illustrated guide to its structure, function and disorders
A complete guide to the one organ in the body that makes each of us what we are - unique individuals.
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
A single source for information on the human brain covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science.
Human Body Book: An Illustrated Guide to Its Structure, Function and Disorders
Revealing and detailing all aspects of the body, from the secrets of DNA to the functions of every major body system, this all-in-one encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information that is ideal for students, health professionals, or anyone who wants to learn more about the human body.
Medical Cannabis Handbook for Healthcare Professionals by
Helps healthcare professionals navigate the maze of information and disinformation about medical cannabis Written for all healthcare professionals who are considering including medical cannabis in their treatment plans, this is the first handbook to disseminate all the information needed to advise patients safely and legally. Replete with evidence-based guidelines firmly grounded in the most up-to-date research, this resource covers the historical, legal, and biological context of medical cannabis so healthcare professionals can confidently discuss possible plans with their patients. Medical Cannabis Handbook For Healthcare Professionals delves into the biology of the endocannabinoid system, addressing how cannabis interacts with the body, its effects and side effects, and how to manage cannabis-drug interactions. Chapters discuss in detail how to talk to patients, what language providers can and cannot use, protocols for patient-centered dosing, and the variety of available cannabinoid pharmaceuticals. Based on the latest research, this book demonstrates the efficacy of cannabis in treating a broad range of symptoms and conditions. Written for any healthcare professional who might have to answer patient questions about medical cannabis, this handbook dispels common myths and confirms little-known facts about medical cannabis. KEY FEATURES: Delivers the most up-to-date, evidence-based research on medical cannabis to enhance understanding of this complex topic Provides historical, legal, and biological content so that healthcare professionals can confidently discuss medical cannabis with patients Dispels common cannabis myths and misinformation Discusses pain management regarding cannabis and opioids Co-published with Medical Marijuana 411, the leading medical cannabis education provider to offer online CME, CPE, and CNE courses to health professionals worldwide; and required certifications for dispensary consultants
Ask Harvard Medical School Video Series
Ask the Doctor questions answered by Harvard Medical School faculty members.
Cambridge Handbook of Psychology, Health and Medicine
Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.
Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease by
An interdisciplinary history of medicine and human disease.
Harvard Medical School Guides
Single-topic, in-depth reports from Harvard Medical School.
Harvard Medical School Health Topics A-Z
In-depth descriptions of the most common diseases, symptoms, procedures, and tests written by Harvard Medical School faculty members.
Key Concepts in Public Health
Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.
Routledge Handbook of Complementary and Alternative Medicine
The Routledge Handbook of Complementary and Alternative Medicine draws on historical and international comparative research to provide a rigorous and thematic examination of the field. It argues that many popular and policy debates are stuck in a polarized and largely asocial discourse, and that interdisciplinary social science perspectives, theorising diversity in the field, provide a much more robust evidence base for policy and practice in the field.
SAGE Key Concepts Series: Key Concepts in Health Studies
Key Concepts in Health Studies provides a much needed guide to the central concepts used across the subject, and offers the reader a comprehensive overview of the core topics, theories and debates. Drawing together the fundamentals within the disciplines of health, nursing, and social policy this book is an ideal text both for students studying health in a range of academic fields, and for health and social care practitioners.
The New Harvard Guide to Women's Health by
This A to Z reference is a definitive resource, praised especially for its coverage of topics not previously considered under the umbrella of women's health.
Encyclopedia of Women's Health by
Informed by current health issues and health-care realities, offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.
Dr. Susan Love's Breast Book by
Dr. Susan Loves Breast Book has long been the bible for the newly diagnosed. In this completely revised fifth edition, it also becomes a guide for those at risk of getting breast cancer, survivors interested in the consequences of their treatment, and anyone who wants to understand the new research about how the local environment influences the manifestations and treatments of many different kinds of breast cancer.
The Oxford Handbook of Meditation by
Meditation techniques, including mindfulness, have become popular wellbeing practices and the scientific study of their effects has recently turned 50 years old. But how much do we know about them: what were they developed for and by whom? How similar or different are they, how effective can they be in changing our minds and biology, what are their social and ethical implications?The Oxford Handbook of Meditation is the most comprehensive volume published on meditation, written in accessible language by world-leading experts on the science and history of these techniques. It covers the development of meditation across the world and the varieties of its practices and experiences. It includes approaches from various disciplines, including psychology, neuroscience, history, anthropology, and sociology and it explores its potential for therapeutic and socialchange, as well as unusual or negative effects.Edited by practitioner-researchers, this book is the ultimate guide for all interested in meditation, including teachers, clinicians, therapists, researchers, or anyone who would like to learn more about this topic.
The GLMA Handbook on LGBT Health [2 Volumes] by
Recent years have seen a flood of high quality research related to the health of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender individuals and families. The GLMA Handbook on LGBT Health is the first comprehensive resource to gather that knowledge in one place in the service of vital information needs. Both accurate and easy to understand, the two-volume handbook addresses physical, mental, and emotional health, as well as policy decisions affecting the LGBT community from youth through old age.
Volume One is devoted to overall health of the population and preventive care, while Volume Two examines disease management. Entries discuss concerns as diverse as HIV/AIDS, substance abuse, domestic violence, depression, heart health, policy and advocacy, and research. The clear but detailed articles in this groundbreaking work will help readers cut through the noise and controversy surrounding scientific advances to make informed choices about their health and well-being.
Opioid Crisis by
A comprehensive overview of opioid use throughout human history, current problems surrounding opioid abuse, and suggested approaches to solving these problems.
Routledge Handbook of Complementary and Alternative Medicine
The Routledge Handbook of Complementary and Alternative Medicine draws on historical and international comparative research to provide a rigorous and thematic examination of the field.
Benders' Dictionary of Nutrition and Food Technology by
Provides succinct, authoritative definitions of over 6100 terms in nutrition and food technology. Also includes nutrient composition data for foods and an appendix with nutrient intake and other useful data.
Healing Ways: An Integrative Health Sourcebook
In Healing Ways: An Integrative Health Sourcebook, you'll find important information about conventional and alternative therapies, and how they can work together to help you reap maximum benefits. This approach is called Complementary and Alternative Medicine (CAM), and it lets you combine the best of both worlds: mainstream medical therapies and alternative solutions that have high-quality scientific evidence for safety and effectiveness.
National Geographic Complete Guide to Natural Home Remedies: 1,025 Easy Ways to Live Longer, Feel Better, and Enrich Your Life
Created with a nationally recognized advisory board of medical professionals and leading figures in natural healing fields, National Geographic Complete Guide to Natural Home Remedies covers topics ranging from the familiar to the new and promising: from mint tea for a stomachache to onion juice for a bee sting, from using baking soda as a kitchen cleanser to finding quiet in a crowded world, from adding turmeric to fight arthritis to practicing aromatherapy at home
Wellbeing: A Complete Reference Guide
Explores wellbeing from multiple perspectives, including children and families; the workplace; the environment; aging and later life; economics; and policies of wellbeing. Each volume brings together leaders of their respective fields in an edited volume of original articles.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Sexuality: Understanding Biology, Psychology, and Culture [2 Volumes] by
This encyclopedia contains more than 460 entries on sex, sexuality, and gender. This new work is important for a field with quickly changing terminologies and evolving understandings. Importantly, these volumes offer a mix of medical, cultural, and psychological discussions, an appropriate approach because sex and sexuality comprise a spectrum of biological and social constructs. Each entry consists of about two pages and offers an average of four sources listed as "Further Reading." This two-volume set will be a solid addition to any library collection given its universally applicable content and relative affordability. Summing Up: Recommended. Lower- and upper-division undergraduates. General readers.
--D. M. Braquet, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Donna Marie Braquet
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Donna Marie Braquet Choice Reviews 59:10 June 2022
Copyright 2022 American Library Association.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by
Includes information on almost 2,000 medical disorders and concepts. Each article includes in-depth discussion of causes, symptoms, diagnosis, treatments, procedures, and other related topics
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine by
Covers all aspects of the subject including therapies, conditions/diseases, herbs/plants, and people. Identifies numerous types of alternative medicine being practiced today, including reflexology, acupressure, acupuncture, chelation therapy, kinesiology, yoga, chiropractic, Feldenkrais, polarity therapy, detoxification, naturopathy, Chinese medicine, biofeedback, Ayurveda and osteopathy
The Encyclopedia of Neuropsychological Disorders
This book serves as an A-Z reference that addresses the neuropsychological aspects of 300 neurological, neuropsychiatric, and neuromedical disorders.
The Encyclopedia of Aging
The Encyclopedia of Aging has proven to be the definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics.
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care, Fourth Edition by
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care is a state-of-the-art resource featuring nearly 300 articles. Topics include acute and chronic disease, home care including family-based care provisions, nursing home care, rehabilitation, health promotion, disease prevention, education, case management, social services, assisted living, advance directives, palliative care, and much more.
The International Encyclopedia of Depression
Experts from around the globe have been selected to present interdisciplinary coverage of all the essential issues related to depression, including use of medication, treatment therapies and models, symptoms of Depression, related disorders, and more. Entries are conveniently organized into subcategories in order to provide the most in-depth coverage of each subject.
Gale Encyclopedia of Fitness by
The Gale Encyclopedia Of Fitness covers 300 topics on physiology and fitness, including coverage of Healthy People 2010 - 2020, the nationwide initiative sponsored by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services to improve the nation's health, as well as topics on diseases and conditions related to fitness.
Epilepsy A to Z: A Concise Encyclopedia
Epilepsy A-Z is a unique compendium that provides a "bullet" of epilepsy-related information that is ideal for quick and easy reference
Credo Reference helps you start your medical research with definitions of your term from specialized medical dictionaries.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
American Heritage Medical Dictionary
A comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery. Clear, concise definitions are included, covering diseases and conditions, treatments, and microorganisms. Hundreds of entries for commonly prescribed and over-the-counter medications are also featured.
Black's Medical Dictionary / 43rd edition; [Enhanced Credo edition] by
A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.
Dictionary of Medical Terms by
Includes terms from British and international medical practice covering fields such as surgery, general practice, hospitals, clinics, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry and other specialisms. Also includes informal terms of the kind used between professionals or professionals and patients.
Merriam-Webster's Medical Dictionary
A concise, up-to-date guide to the essential language of medicine. Contains More than 38,000 entries and covers the latest brand names and generic equivalents of common drugs.
Webster's New World™ Medical Dictionary
An invaluable resource that will help you make sense of confusing medical jargon, prepare for a doctor visit, or research treatment options. Packed with information about diseases, treatments, and medicines. Includes appendices on vitamins and frequently used anatomical terms. Draws information from dozens of medical specialists ranging from pediatrics to pathology.
Encyclopedia of International Games
The Encyclopedia of International Games captures (in one alphabetical sequence) the histories of major regional events such as the African, Asian, Arab, South Pacific, and Pan American Games; competitions such as the Indian Ocean Island Games, Arctic Winter Games, Island Games, and Games of the Small Countries of Europe; specific populations or professions such as the North American Indigenous Games, Maccabiah Games, World Military Games, World Police and Fire Games, and World Medical and Health Games; and Special Olympics, the Paralympics, games for the blind, and other regional games.
Key Concepts in Sport & Exercise Sciences
Provides students and scholars with a fail-safe guide to the key concepts in the field of Sport and Exercise Science.
Key Concepts in Sports Studies
Written by experienced academics use to teaching the subject, this book will help students and researchers find their way within the diverse field of sport studies.
SAGE Key Concepts series: Key Concepts in Sport Psychology
The concise and authoritative entries have been selected by experienced teachers and researchers; each one defines, explains and develops a key topic in sport psychology acting as a springboard for further reading and debate.
World Atlas of Sport
The atlas traces the emergence of sport in its modern forms, and features all established Olympic sports and sports recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) but not included in the Olympic programme, as well as sports with their own cultural and organizational base and commercial momentum.