Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
Contains over 3,000 entries cover every aspect of philosophy from Aristotle to Zen. Entries include over 500 biographies of famous and influential philosophers, in-depth analysis of philosophical terms and concepts, a chronology of philosophical events stretching from 10,000 BC to the present day, and coverage of themes from Chinese, Indian, Islamic, and Jewish philosophy.
Dictionary of Buddhism
Contains over 2,000 entries with broad-ranging entries on the history and doctrines of the major Buddhist schools, information on the spread of Buddhism in Asia and the West, and coverage of issues of contemporary concern such as human rights, abortion, euthanasia, ‘engaged Buddhism’, and the role of women in Buddhist teachings.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Covers a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment. Helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations.
Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Contains studies of selected pivotal ideas with topics from nature, humanity, art, history, politics, religion and philosophy, math and logic.
A comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Includes multiple sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.
Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews
Our goal is to review a good majority of the scholarly philosophy books issued each year and to have the review appear within six to twelve months of a book's publication. Reviews are commissioned and vetted by a distinguished international Editorial Board. We do not accept unsolicited reviews or proposals to review. The journal is published only electronically (available free, through e-mail subscription, RSS feed, and on this website). -- NDPR website
American Philosophical Association
The American Philosophical Association promotes the discipline and profession of philosophy, both within the academy and in the public arena. The APA supports the professional development of philosophers at all levels and works to foster greater understanding and appreciation of the value of philosophical inquiry.
Search All WSU Library Collections
WSU Databases in Philosophy
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
Philosopher's Index Full-text
A current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. Contains research published since 1940 including over 680 journals from more than 50 countries with content representing a variety of languages.
The Public Affairs Information Service, PAIS, provides selected coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference papers, web content and more. PAIS International covers 1972 - present; PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976. While this title can be searched on its own, it's best to search it through the full-text ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection.
Arts & Humanities Database
Featrures hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.