LibGuides: Government Information: Overview

Databases for Government Information

NexisUni
Full text of federal statutes and regulations, federal and state case law.
EBSCO Military and Government Collection
Current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government
CQ Researcher
A database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923 — each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.

Selected Government Journals

Congressional Hearing Transcript Database
Provides transcripts of major Congressional hearings.
Government Information Quarterly
An international journal that examines the intersection of policy, information technology, government, and the public. In particular, GIQ focuses on how policies affect government information flows and the availability of government information; the use of technology to create and provide innovative government services; the impact of information technology on the relationship between the governed and those governing; and the increasing significance of information policies and information technology in relation to democratic practices.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports and Issue Briefs
A compilation of policy research and analysis reports prepared by the Congressional Review Service (CRS), the non-partisan research arm of the United States Congress. The reports cover a broad range of subjects, from the environment to military intelligence.
Government Executive
Government's business news daily and the premier digital destination for senior leaders in the federal government's departments and agencies. Our readers are the high-ranking civilian and military officials who are responsible for defending the nation and carrying out the laws that define the government's role in our economy and society.
Cato Supreme Court Review
leading legal scholars analyze the most important cases of the Supreme Court’s most recent term. The Review is published annually on Constitution Day, in tandem with a major symposium. It is the first scholarly review to appear after the term’s end and the only one to critique the court from a Madisonian perspective.

The American Constitution Society brings together many of the country’s best legal minds to articulate a progressive vision of our Constitution and laws.

Federal Government Information

National Technical Information Service provides innovative data services to federal agencies, through joint venture partnerships with the private sector, to advance federal data priorities, promote economic growth, and enable operational excellence.
Gov Engine is a directory of Federal, State, and Local Government as well as Court links
Science Gov is a gateway to authoritative, selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies
USA Gov a rich treasure of online information, services, and resources. Overwhelming amount of information. Try the directories - searching these is usually more direct than results from the general search box. Also try the FAQs, a huge number of questions (over 2,000) so someone might already have asked your question. Formerly called First Gov.
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
United States House of Representatives is the Offical website for the U.S.House of Representatives
United States Senate is the official website for the U.S. Senate.

Quick Links

All federal, city, state or international governmental agencies offer great resources of free, reliable and authoritative material. The selected links in this guide offer some of the best and most popular government sites.