Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias etc.
- Credo Reference
Search over 600 reference books along with images and concept mapping tools. Wide spectrum of social science resources, with many sociology dictionaries, including: The A-Z of Social Research, The Handbook of Economic Sociology, Handbook of Environmental Sociology, Gale World of Sociology, Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology, Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures, Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and Suburbs.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVLR)
Core reference sources including The International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture and the Essential Primary Sources series.
- Oxford Reference
Subject dictionaries, encyclopedias and the Companions series from Oxford University Press. Titles include: A Dictionary of Sociology, A Dictionary of Social Work and Social Care, A Dictionary of Sports Studies, Dictionary of the Social Sciences.
- Britannica Online (Academic Edition)
Detailed statistics with tools for analysis and display, this resource features a collection of in-depth information about the countries of the world and allows you to create comparative charts and tables including Chronological Comparisons, which offers historical data spanning up to 90 years.
- Pop Culture Universe - Academic edition
Contains a comprehensive, objective and authoritative collection of information and multi-media content on popular culture in America both past and present. Offers the ability to browse by decade or search by subject.