LibGuides: Book Reviews: Overview

Finding Book Reviews

Finding published book reviews from reliable sources can be a challenge in the online environment. The databases here can help you find good reviews published in established, credible sources.

Podcasts fron Inside NY Times Book Reviews

Databases for Book Reviews

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Largest collection of academic, scholarly periodicals. Includes multimedia and some reference.
Audience: College & Professional
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection
JSTOR is an online archive of scholarly journals which contains high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Overall, it provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Archive Journal Collections:
Arts & Sciences I-XV
Business IV
Hebrew Journals
Ireland
Life Sciences
Lives of Literature
Public Health Journals
Security Studies
Sustainability
AND
Primary Source Collections:
19th Century British Pamphlets
World Heritage Sites: Africa
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Global Plants
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
Newsstream, US
US Newsstream by ProQuest enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
New York Times Book Review
The full text coverage is from 1988 to present.
ProQuest Central
Search 39 databases in one single search that cover many subjects including computing, nursing & allied health, health management, education, criminal justice, biology and general sciences, psychology and general social sciences - lots of full text.

More Databases

Art Full Text (H.W.Wilson)
Comprehensive resource with hundreds of peer-reviewed journals. Covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™, the new interface for Lexis/Nexis, features more than 10,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
NexisUni YouTube tutorials, https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLdbPh35WxTMqcEizkbuKF6ev9PIvupOAJ

Other Internet Resources for Book Reviews

New York Review of Books - selected reviews

New York Times on the Web Books - Books and authors from reviews, news, and interviews in the New York Times back to 1981.

Quarterly Black Review - focusing on books of interest to African-Americans

Washington Post Book World - Washington Post Sunday book review section

Specialized Reviews

H-Net Reviews - very current reviews from the Humanities and Social Sciences Online Network (free source)

Literary Criticism - from the Internet Public Library. Contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period.