Archives: Online Archives Collections

Archives document the language and attitudes of the historical period in which they were created and may include images, words, or behaviors that are recognized as offensive today. These materials are collected and presented as part of the historical record and do not represent an endorsement of the attitudes or sentiments expressed within them. For questions about the origins, context, and historical significance of these materials, please review the descriptive information contained in finding aids available on this Libguide or contact the archivist: rgriffiths@worcester.edu. 

Course Catalogs describe classes and courses of study at Worcester State University from its founding in 1874 to the present. Included also are academic calendars, admissions requirements, names of faculty and administrators, and descriptions of extracurricular activities and campus facilities. Some early volumes include ephemera such as commencement programs. Most volumes through to the 1940s include the names of attending or graduating students.

The collection is arranged by academic year and includes catalogs for general, graduate, extension, and continuing education, and summer programs. Note: Publication sequence is irregular from the 1920s to the 1980s with some volumes containing multiple academic years while other years are skipped. Volumes absent from this collection may reflect these irregularities or the unavailability of a particular published volume. 

This collection is hosted on the Internet Archive and can be browsed there or explored below. All items were digitized in 2019 by the Digital Commonwealth.

For more information about this collection view the finding aid here. Print volumes of these materials may be viewed at the WSU Archives; LRC room L 328-A. 

Click on a hotlinked title below to view a particular catalog. 

Worcester State published an annual yearbook from 1935 to 2011. These volumes include portraits of students, faculty, and staff as well as photographs and general information about academic and extracurricular programs, and the physical campus. Yearbooks were laid out by student committees and vary in design from year to year. Of special note are commemorative themes for Worcester State’s 100^th anniversary (1974), and the United States Bicentennial (1976).

This collection is hosted on the Internet Archive and can be browsed there or viewed below. These volumes were digitized in 2015 by the Digital Commonwealth. 

View The Fledgling, a stand-alone yearbook published in 1926. 

For The Oakleaf and subsequent yearbook titles published from 1935-2010, click on a year below. 

For more information about this collection, view the finding aid here. Print volumes may be viewed at the WSU Archives; LRC room L 328-A. 

Audio and video holdings include a variety of formats and feature selected campus events such as commencements, convocations, and lectures. Below is a selection of these holdings that are digitally available. More items will be added here as they become available. 

For more videos, texts and sound recordings, visit the Worcester State Internet Archive page. 

The Internet Archive is a non-profit digital library providing free access to digitized materials, including web sites, software applications and games, music, movies and videos, moving images, and nearly three million public-domain books. It also features the Wayback Machine, a digital library of more than 5 billion archived web pages.

Worcester state students have published a variety of literary journals featuring creative and scholarly writing and artwork. The titles below include poetry and prose as well as book and movie reviews and commentary about campus events and larger national and international affairs. These titles are selected from a larger print collection held by the WSU archives.