Skip to main content

Mathematics Research Guide: Overview

A good place to get started with research topics in math and statistics

Mathematics

Start Here

Credo Reference  Cross search over 600 full text reference books with a single search. Find facts and background material in authoritative, in-depth articles. Click a button and your search can be continued in our article databases or the WSU Library's Online Catalog

Contains images, sound files, animations, videos and topic pages that organize research tools available for your topic. There is also a concept map, interactive software to map out and focus your chosen research topic.

Also Useful

McGraw Hill's Encyclopedia of Science and Technology   via online portal Access Science

Complete text of the 11th edition (2012) . Written by leading subject experts in the world, 38 of whom are Noble Prize winners. The online site also includes over 3,000 in-depth biographies of leading scientists, continually updated news feed from Science News, on breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology, from biology, Earth and environmental sciences, chemistry, physics and beyond.

Includes 110,000 definitions taken from the McGraw Hill Dictionary of Scientific Terms.

One Search for all WSU Library Materials

WSU Databases

Science Direct A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books

ProQuest Science Journals Definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. Coverage includes general science, materials science, aerospace, engineering, computers, physics, telecommunications, transportation, and military science.

JSTOR Is an online archive of scholarly journals which contains high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Arts & Sciences Collection I, II and IV only.

Free Searching

ZBMath - The ZbMATH Database contains about 2.9 million entries drawn from about 3500 journals and 1100 serials from 1868 to present. Published by Springer and the European Mathematical Society. Search for free, but the full text is expensive. Use our Journal Finder to see if the full text is available in one of our databases. If not, you can use the Interlibrary Loan Service where we will obtain the items you need from another library.

Electronic Library of Mathematics - contains online journals, article collections, monographs, and other electronic resources in the field of mathematics. Most of the site is free, except for some periodicals which a certain delay period after which they become freely available.

Open Access

Open Science Directory - FREE contains just over 13,000 free journals, including the Directory of Open Access Journals, and peer-reviewed journals covered by High Wire Press (Stanford University - the largest archive of of free full-text articles in science and medicine). Easy identification of issues and available years. 

Mag Portal  FREE Updated every few days. Separate section for Math . Searchable, easy to browse directory of magazine articles on science and technology available online. Good for general interest, popular magazine coverage of topics in math.

 

Subject Guide