It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Resources and Services During COVID-19: Home
About this Guide
This guide highlights resources and services available to the WSU community during the COVID-19 global health pandemic. The following PDF—WSU Library Continuity of Services—features a helpful list of resources and services available to remote users. Additionally, this guide features: 1) links to new electronic subscriptions to assist with online teaching and learning, and 2) links to free internet resources.
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street
From Oscar®, Emmy, and Peabody award-winning documentaries to A-list performances spanning the arts, Films On Demand has content that will both educate and entertain students and researchers on a wide range of curricular subjects, including history, biology, business and economics, engineering, computer science, technical and trade skills, art and architecture, music and dance, philosophy and religion, geography, environmental science, anthropology, language and literature, mathematics, psychology, sociology, political science, and more.
Top Producers including A&E, PBS, BBC Learning, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, HBO Documentary Films, PBS NewsHour, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, Annenberg Learner, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.
A rare view of what rush hour in London looked like in 1897. The dramatic and suspenseful newsreel announcing the crash of the Hindenburg zeppelin. President Ronald Reagan’s challenging speech at the Brandenburg Gate. Throughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. This collection is a treasure trove of archival and historical films from multiple sources.
The Prelinger Archives – a collection of films relating to U.S. cultural and social history and the evolution of everyday life in America.
The WPA Film Library – more than 2,800 clips and newsreels from the late 1800s onward.
The United Newsreel collection – the series of newsreels produced by the U.S. Office of War Information during World War II.
The Universal Newsreel collection – a series of seven- to 10-minute newsreels produced by Universal Studios that were released twice per week between 1929 and 1967.
Recordings from the National Archives and Records Administration of historic speeches and events.
These simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations cover a wide range of STEM subjects. The library offers access to 11 selected collections: Basic Biology, Advanced Biology, JoVE Core: Biology, Lab Manual: Biology; Chemistry; Physics; Psychology; JoVE Core: Social Psychology; Clinical Skills; Engineering; and Environmental Sciences. A Curriculum Specialist to help with syllabus mapping or other technical support is available for faculty; contact your library liaison for more information. Users should log in and create a profile - you must be logged in to embed video into your learning platform!
JoVE Science Education is content directly designed for undergraduate science study. There are 11 collections included within this Science Education offering, as follows; some are video textbooks, others demonstrate lab and field skills.
Basic Biology - Lab safety, using common equipment, basic techniques, handing lab animals
Advanced Biology - Common techniques, theories and procedures in sub-sections of Biology including Genetics, Cell Biology, Neuroscience and more
JoVE Core: Biology - a video textbook mapped to OpenStax Biology as well as Campbell's Biology. Great for intro bio and A&P
Lab Manual: Biology - instructor and student prep, execution and reporting on a number of experiments in Biology
Chemistry - Common techniques, theories and procedures in sub-sections of Chemistry including Orgo, Analytical, Inorgo and more
Physics - Theory and experiments detailing fundamentals of Physics study
Psychology - Collection of Psychology theory in Social, Behavioral, Developmental and other areas
JoVE Core: Social Psychology - video textbook on Social Psychology (new as of February 2020)
Clinical Skills - Three collections of physical examinations as well as nursing skills and emergency medicine. Great for any pre-health major
Engineering - Video fundamentals of Engineering in a number of fields including Mechanical, Biomedical and more
Environmental Sciences - Video fundamentals of Earth Science and more.
A collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed. Materials have been posted by the Internet Archive.
A list of licensed content library vendors are making available on free or modified terms during the COVID-19 outbreak. The list of resources is community-sourced with assistance from University Intellectual Property Officers (UIPO).