Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government Websites for Consumers
The National Library of Medicine's comprehensive health information site with authoritative sections on Health Topics, Drugs & Supplements, informative Videos & Tools, Lab Test Information, and a Medical Encyclopedia. Provides a link to information on Clinical Trials. Illustrated Patient Handouts are available in English and Spanish.
MedlinePlus on Disabilities
Comprehensive information for people with disabilities, their families and caregivers. Provides the Basics, Living With, Statistics, Research, Find an Expert, mobility aids and assistive devices, and more.
Recommended Consumer Health Sites
- Aginginplace.org is a resource hub about the specific aspects of aging in place. Our unbiased, informative guides help seniors and their loved ones make informed decisions about their homes, finances, health, activities of daily living (ADL) and independent living.
- AHFS Consumer Medical Information - A trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.
- Bedsider.org - online birth control support network for women 18-29 to "help[ing] women find the method of birth control that’s right for them and learn how to use it consistently and effectively...." Operated by The National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy, a private non-profit organization.
- Everyday Health - evidence-based health and medical information from the nation's leading healthcare providers and patient advocates, with informative articles and slideshows, comprehensive reference guides, interactive tools, fun quizzes, and social video.
- Family Doctor - from the American Academy of Family Physicians, features physician-reviewed patient education materials that includes care for the physical, mental, and emotional health of the whole family from newborns to older adults. Familydoctor.org content is available in English and Spanish.
- Harvard Health - features information about health and wellness from the Harvard Medical School.
- Healthline - medical search engine offers medically filtered results developed by trained medical personnel. Formerly Your Doctor.com.
- A Healthy Me - from Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts. Has news, special self-care sections such as high blood pressure, weight control, prostate health; also covers current issues such as prescription drug cards.
- Lab Tests Online - an award-winning resource from the American Academy of Clinical Chemistry that helps patients to better understand the many clinical laboratory tests that play a critical role in diagnosing, monitoring, and treating a broad range of conditions, including cancer, diabetes, heart disease, and infectious diseases. It also has information on conditions/diseases and standard health screenings by age group.
- MayoClinic - Patient care and health information for the general public provided by the well-respected Mayo Clinic. Also has resource libraries in areas such as cancer, pregnancy, women's health, etc.
- Medicine Net - Owned and Operated by WebMD and part of the WebMD Network. Easy-to-read, in-depth, authoritative medical information for consumers with a user-friendly, interactive web site. Includes Symptom Checker, Medical Terms Dictionary, and section on Pet Health.
- Merck Manual for Consumers - First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, the Manual is one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers, with concise information in everyday language on health topics, symptoms, emergencies, drug information with pill identifier, news & commentary, and other resources on common medical tests, medical terms, abbreviations, images and more!
- PDR+ for Patients - Prescriber's Digital Reference+ for Patients provides search and browse for over 2,300 drug guides by drug name. PDR+ for Patients combines the benefits, as well as the safety information for the drugs chosen, helping patients understand why they are taking the medication and the benefits of adhering to their regimen.
- WebMD - a leading commercial provider of online information, educational services and communities for physicians and consumers
NIH News in Health Newsfeed
Latest from CDC - Public Health Matters