LibGuides: e-Reference Collections: Women and Gender Studies

e-Reference Books

A companion to gender history by Teresa A. Meade and Merry E. Wiesner-Hanks Introduction: Teresa A. Meade and Merry Wiesner-Hanks Thematic essays on gender issues in world history: Sexuality / Robert Nye; Labor / Laura Frader; Family and kinship / Merry Wiesner-Hanks; Religion / Ursula King; Law and politics / Susan Kinsley Kent; Race, gender, and other differences in feminist theory / Deirdre Keenan; Gender and education / Pavla Miller; How images got their gender: masculinity and femininity in the visual arts / Mary D. Sheriff; Revolution, nationalism, anti-imperialism / Temma Kaplan; Feminist movements / Barbara Winslow Chronological and geographical essays. Prehistory. Gender and the formation of the first human societies / Marcia-Anne Dobres; Classical and post-classical societies (2000 bce-1400 ce); Middle East and South Asia / Guity Nashat; Gendered themes in early African history / David Schoenbrun; Early Western civilization under the sign of gender: Europe, and the Mediterranean / Paul Halsall; The Americas / Rosemary A. Joyce; Gender and the development of modern society (1400-1750); Gender history, Southeast Asia, and the "World Region Framework" / Barbara Watson Andaya; Gender in early modern Western Europe / Julie Hardwick; Gender in early modern Eastern Europe and Russia / Nancy Shields Kollmann; A new world engendered, the making of the Iberian transatlantic empires / Verena Stolcke; Gender and the modern world (1750-1920); The Middle East and North Africa / Judith Tucker; Sub-Saharan Africa / Marcia Wright; South Asia, Southeast Asia, Australia and New Zealand / Nupur Chaudhuri; Gender in East Asia (1600-1919) / Anne Walthall; Europe / Deborah Valenze; Latin America and the Caribbean / Sonya Lipsett-Rivera; North America / Linda Kealey; Gender in the contemporary world (1920-2003); Asia / Barbara Molony; Africa / Sean Redding; Russia and Eastern Europe / Barbara Evans Clements; Latin America and the Caribbean / Susan Besse; North America, Western Europe, Australia, and New Zealand / Charles Sowerwine with Patricia Grimshaw.
Call Number: HQ1075 .C655 2004eb
ISBN: 9781782684664
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of gender in media by Mary Kosut Sex role in mass media. Women in mass media. Men in mass media.
Call Number: P96.S5 E53 2012eb
ISBN: 9781780346434
Publication Date: 2012
Feminism is queer : the intimate connection between queer and feminist theory by Mimi Marinucci Preface to the second edition: The cultural currency of queer Preface to the first edition: Not just the new "gay" Section I. Sexuality: 1. The social construction of sexuality; 2. The social history of lesbian and gay identity; 3. Queer alternatives Section II. Sex: 4. Unwelcome interventions; 5. Welcome transitions Section III. Gender: 6. Gender refined and redefined; 7. Feminism re-examined and reconsidered Section IV. Queer feminism: 8. Notes toward a queer feminism; 9. Questionably queer? From straight allies to queer solidarity
Call Number: HQ1190 .M355 2016eb
ISBN: 9781786844651
Publication Date: 2016
Gender history in a transnational perspective : networks, biographies, gender orders by Oliver Janz and Daniel Schönpflug Introduction / Oliver Janz and Daniel Schönpflug Chapter 1. Understanding international feminisms as 'transnational' / an anachronism? May Wright Sewall and the creation of the International Council of Women, 1889-1904 / Karen Offen Chapter 2. The National Councils of Women in France, Italy and Portugal: comparisons and entanglements, 1888-1939 / Anne Cova Chapter 3. A forgotten instance of women's international organising: the transnational feminist networks of the Women's Progressive Society (1890) and the International Women's Union (1893-1898) / Julie Carlier Chapter 4. A struggle over gender, class and the vote: unequal international interactions and the formation of the 'Female International' of Socialist Women (1905-1907) / Susan Zimmermann Chapter 5. How did women use the vote? Women and transnational politics in the twentieth century / Pat Thane Chapter 6. A transnational career? The republican and utopian politics of Frances Wright (1795-1852) / Jane Rendall Chapter 7. What is a transnational life? Some thoughts about Marguerite Thibert's career and life (1886-1982) / Frandcoise Thébaud Chapter 8. Between nationalism and cosmopolitanism: female opera singers in Britain and Germany in the first half of the nineteenth century / Gunilla Budde Chapter 9. Gender, class, race and sexuality: a transnational approach to legislation on venereal diseases, 1880s-1940s / Ida Blom Chapter 10. Transgressing the colour line: policing colonial 'miscegenation' / Birthe Kundrus Chapter 11. Sex drives, bride prices and divorces: legal policy concerning gender relations in German Cameroon, 1884-1916 / Ulrike Schaper.
Call Number: HQ1121 .G373 2014eb
ISBN: 9781785396151
Publication Date: 2014
Global encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) history by Howard Chiang, Anjali Aronekar [and six others] ACT UP Activism in Africa South of the Sahara Adoption and surrogacy in Europe Adoption, fostering, and surrogacy (international) Aestheticism and decadence, nineteenth-century African commission on human and peoples' rights Afropop music AIDS memorial quilt : the NAMES Project Al-Akharun (2006; Seba al-Herz) alQaws Amer, Ghada (1963-) Ana Hiya Anti (2000; Elham Mansour) Antes que Anochezca (1992; Reinaldo Arenas) Anthropology in Africa South of the Sahara Anti-gender movement in Europe Anti-racist activism in Europe Anti-Semitism and Zionism Anti-Semitism in Europe Antisodomy and buggery trials Archives in Africa Archives in Asia Archives in Australia and New Zealand Archives in Europe Archives in Latin America Archives in North America Argentina's gender identity law The art of identity in India The art of queering Asian mythology Asexuality Asia Pacific Transgender Network Asrar 'Ailiyyah (2013; Hany Fawzy) Aswat Athletes, and more
Call Number: HQ73 .G56 2019eb
ISBN: 9780684325545
Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of Research on Women's Issues and Rights in the Developing World by Nazmunnessa Mahtab (Editor); Ishrat Khan Barsha (Editor); Mynul Islam (Editor); Ishret Binte Wahid (Editor) Section 1. Women and work Section 2. Women's education and health Section 3. Vulnerability and women Section 4. Equality and empowerment Section 5. Gender and media Section 6. Emerging challenges and inclusion of men on women's issues.
Call Number: HQ1870.9 .H36 2018eb
ISBN: 9781522530190
Publication Date: 2018
Junctures in women's leadership : business by Lisa Hetfield and Dana M. Britton oann heffernan Heisen : enabling women's leadership at Johnson & Johnson / Grace Howard and Dana M. Britton Sara Blakely : reinventing women's shapewear with spanx / Amanda Roberti and Lisa Hetfield Madam C.J. Walker : leadership grounded in social and racial uplift / Rosemary Ndubuizu and Lisa Hetfield Diane McCarthy : responding to crisis through connected leadership at Verizon / Kathleen E. McCollough and Lisa Hetfield Jane ni Dhulchaointigh : changing the world through participatory design / Laura Lovin and Dana M. Britton Ursula Burns : restructuring an American icon at Xerox / Rosemary Ndubuizu and Dana M. Britton Alice Waters : transforming American food / Stina Soderling and Lisa Hetfield Avid Modjtaba I: leading change at Wells Fargo / Amanda Roberti and Dana M. Britton Martha Stewart : the rise, fall, and comeback of a brand / Carolina Alonso Bejarano and Lisa Hetfield Barbara Krumsiek : putting social responsibility on the investment agenda / Crystal Bedley and Lisa Hetfield Roseline Marston : navigating transition in an employee owned firm at A.D. Marble & Company / Carolina Alonso Bejarano and Dana M. Britton Subha Barry : changing the cultural dna at Merrill Lynch / Grace Howard and Dana M. Britton Contributors.
Call Number: HD6054.4.U6 J86 2016eb
ISBN: 9781785398469
Publication Date: 2016
Women in combat a reference handbook by Rosemarie Skaine Women in combat--United States. Women in combat--Government policy--United States. Women soldiers--United States--Biography. Women sailors--United States--Biography. United States--Armed Forces--Women. United States--Armed Forces--Women--Biography.
Call Number: UB418.W65 S563 2011eb
ISBN: 9781849729338
Publication Date: 2011
Women in Higher Education by Ana M. Martinez Aleman; Kristen A. Renn Pt. 1. Historical and Cultural Contexts Overview / Jana Nidiffer Black Women's Colleges / Tiffany Gayle Chenault Catholic Women's Colleges / Tracy Schier Coeducation / Laura Marie Micheletti Community Colleges / Kim VanDerLinden Hispanic-Serving Institutions / Elizabeth Maria Bejar Historical Documents / Verity Smith Historically Black Colleges and Universities / Elizabeth Maria Bejar Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Issues on Campuses / Ronni L. Sanlo and Steven J. Leider Military Colleges / Stacy A. Jacob Southern Baptist Colleges / T. Laine Scales Tribal Colleges / AnnMarie Rousey Women's Colleges / Lisa E. Wolf-Wendel Pt. 2. Gender Theory and the Academy Overview / Eleanor MacDonald Demographics of Gender and Race / Shaireen Rasheed and Shilpi Sinha Feminist Assessment / Katya Salkever Intersection of Gender and Race / Susan L. Schramm Psychology of Sex Differences / Laura M. Sinnett Sexual Harassment / Jeanette Reichmuth Pt. 3. Feminism in the Academy Overview / Rebecca Ropers-Huilman Black Feminism and Womanism / Evangeline Wheeler Feminist Epistemology / Lynn Safarik Feminist Ethics / Kalina M. Brabeck and Mary M. Brabeck Feminist Pedagogy / Frances A. Maher and Mary Kay Tetreault Feminist Research Methodology / Christine L. Jocoy Pt. 4. Women in the Curriculum Overview / Ann K. Schonberger Academic Caucuses and Committees / Janni L. Aragon Distance Education / LuAnn Hiniker Ecofeminism / Tess Pierce Family and Consumer Sciences / Virginia B. Vincenti Gender and Technology / Katy Campbell Internet-based Distance Education / Laurel Jeris Medical Education / Kay Beaver Physical Education / Thalia M. Mulvihill Teacher Education / Felecia M. Briscoe and Linda C. Pacifici Transformation of the Curriculum / Kerry Brian Melear Women's Studies / Francesca B. Purcell Pt. 5. Women and Higher Education Policy Overview / Vivyan C. Adair Affirmative Action and Employment / Patricia Somers Class / Luisa S. Deprez and Sandra S. Butler Gender Inequality / Judith Glazer-Raymo Legal Issues / Benjamin Baez Students' Rights / John Wesley Lowery Title IX / Patricia Somers Women with Disabilities / Susan M. Pliner Pt. 6. Women Students Overview / Florence Guido-DiBrito Activism / Anita Tijerina Revilla African American Students / Rochelle L. Woods American Indian Students / Roger Geertz Gonzalez Asian American Students / Roberta Malee Bassett Biracial and Biethnic Students / Samantha J. Ortiz Black Sororities / Tiffany Gayle Chenault Classroom Climate / Elizabeth J. Allan Community College Students / Jean V. Kartje Counseling Issues and Services / Debra J. Blanke Curricular and Professional Choices / Courtney A. Little Development of Multiple Social and Cultural Identities / Dafina Lazarus Stewart Developmental Issues / Karen D. Arnold Extracurricular Issues / Emily Langdon Graduate and Professional Education / Patricia Helland Graduate Students / Pamela Merchant Christian Graduate Students and Science / Carol L. Hodes Growth of Women's Athletics / Shawn Ladda Jewish Students / Diana B.Turk Latina Students / Tara J. Yosso Learning and Knowing / Marcia B. Baxter Magolda Nontraditional Students / Estelle Miller Persistence / Linda Serra Hagedorn, Faith I. Womack, Christina Vogt, Shelly Westebbe and Jeffrey Kealing Romantic Relationships / Shannon K. Gilmartin and Linda J. Sax Service Learning and Community Service / Ellen M. Broido Sexual Assault / Lee Scherer Hawthorne Sexuality / Sarah M. Tillery Socioeconomic Status / MaryBeth Walpole Sororities / Amy E. Wells Undergraduates and Science / Linda J. Sax and Alyssa N. Bryant Women Athletes / Janet M. Holdsworth Pt. 7. Women Faculty Overview / Joanne E. Cooper African American Faculty / Kimberly Lenease King American Indian Faculty / Barbara J. Johnson Asian American Faculty / Roberta Malee Bassett Campus Climate / Christine M. Cress Comparative Issues / Reitumetse Obakeng Mabokela Disciplinary Socialization / Helen S. Astin and Jennifer Lindholm Evaluation / Marta Soto Hiring / Joanne E. Cooper Latina Faculty / Toni Calasanti and Janice Witt Smith Lesbian Faculty / Susan Talburt Researchers / Elizabeth G. Creamer Salaries / Dana E. Christman Sex Discrimination / Cassandra P. Evans Socialization / Kelly Ward and Estela M. Bensimon Teachers / Gypsy M. Denzine Tenure and Promotion / Laura Perna Unionization / Pamela L. Eddy Women of Color at Predominantly White Institutions / Berta Vigil Laden Pt. 8. Women Administrators Overview / Susan B. Twombly and Vicki J. Rosser African American Administrators / Vernicka K. Tyson American Indian Administrators / Marilyn L. Grady Asian American Administrators / Lori M. Ideta Ethics and Practice / Jane Fried Latina Administrators / Marilyn L. Grady Leadership / Marilyn J. Amey and Pamela L. Eddy Leadership in Catholic Institutions / Mary Lou Jackson Librarians / Rebecca Tolley-Stokes Mobility / Mary Ann Danowitz Sagaria and Melissa A. Rychener Presidency / Pamela L. Eddy Professional Organizations / Jennifer Weisman Pt. 9. Women Employees Overview / Linda K. Johnsrud and Lynn T. Inoshita Unionization / Myrna Cherkoss Donahoe App. 1. Women's Studies Research Resources / Betty J. Glass App. 2. Colleges Identifying Themselves as Women's Colleges.
Call Number: LC1568 .W66 2002eb
ISBN: 9781780340340
Publication Date: 2002