LibGuides: English and Literature: Library Cheat sheet (Dual Enrollment)

Information/Digital Literacy Matters!

Digital Literacy is the ability to use the internet and other digital tools to find accurate information and apply that information to our own lives. (informationliteracy.gov)

Information Literacy is a "set of integrated abilities encompassing the reflective discovery of information, the understanding of how information is produced and valued and the use of information in creating new knowledge and participating ethically in communities of learning". (Association of College and Research Libraries)

Finding Ebooks

HELM catalog
This is the library catalog for books.

1. On the "Advance Search" page, choose "EBook" option.

2. Location and availability: choose "Worcester State University Online"

3. Search

Finding Articles

Biography (Gale In Context)
Biographies, periodicals, multimedia and more for over 350,000 people; full text online.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. The optional MLA International Bibliography module adds citations for hundreds of thousands of books, articles and dissertations from 1926 to the present, linked to full text where available.
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.

Getting Help

Off-campus Access

Citation Guide

Library Tutorials

Ask a librarian--Chat

Book a virtual appointment with me

Videos

Films on Demand Archival Films & Newsreels Collection
A rare view of what rush hour in London looked like in 1897. The dramatic and suspenseful newsreel announcing the crash of the Hindenburg zeppelin. President Ronald Reagan’s challenging speech at the Brandenburg Gate. Throughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. This collection is a treasure trove of archival and historical films from multiple sources.
Collection Highlights:

The Prelinger Archives – a collection of films relating to U.S. cultural and social history and the evolution of everyday life in America.
The WPA Film Library – more than 2,800 clips and newsreels from the late 1800s onward.
The United Newsreel collection – the series of newsreels produced by the U.S. Office of War Information during World War II.
The Universal Newsreel collection – a series of seven- to 10-minute newsreels produced by Universal Studios that were released twice per week between 1929 and 1967.
Recordings from the National Archives and Records Administration of historic speeches and events.