It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find the best library databases for your research.
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers almost 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and others. Includes the more than 14,000 titles exclusive to the Alexander Street films collection!
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
In response to the COVID-19 crisis, Artstor is providing Free access to Art images and Multimedia from their Artstor Digital Library, Institutional Collections, and Public Collections. The Artstor Digital Library offers 3 million images from leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists, including many rare and important collections available nowhere else. These collections are rights-cleared for use in education, encompass a wide variety of disciplines, and are presented alongside a set of specialized tools for teaching and learning. This Free expanded access ends June 30, 2021.
With approximately 300 collections composed of over 2.5 million images (and growing), scholars can examine wide-ranging material such as Native American art from the Smithsonian, treasures from the Louvre, and panoramic, 360-degree views of the Hagia Sophia in a single, easy-to-use resource.
The Artstor Digital Library provides straightforward access to curated images from reliable sources that have been rights-cleared for use in education and research — you are free to use them in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly activities.
And unlike results from Google or other search engines, our images come with high-quality metadata from the collection catalogers, curators, institutions, and artists themselves.
This site is a curated selection of primary sources for teaching and learning about the struggles and triumphs of Black Americans. Developed with input from Black history scholars and advisors, this resource is freely available on the web and to libraries. The site includes more than 2,000 curated documents around six crucial phases of the U.S. Black freedom struggle. Each time period features an overview plus organized information and links to primary source documents about the relevant people, places, related government documents.
Slavery and Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860)
Civil War and Reconstruction Era (1861-1877)
Jim Crow Era to the Great Depression (1878-1932)
New Deal and World War II (1933-1945)
Civil Rights and Black Power Movement (1946-1975)
Contemporary Era (1976-present)
The materials used come from the following ProQuest collections:
American Periodicals Series – Out-of-copyright newspapers
Black Abolitionist Papers -- Correspondence, pamphlets and periodicals
ProQuest History Vault – Organizational records such as committee minutes, pamphlets, reports, FBI case files, newsletters, and records of presidential administrations and federal agencies such as the Department of Justice.
ProQuest Congressional - House and Senate documents and reports, hearings, presidential communications and messages, treaties, bills and laws, American state papers, and executive branch documents.
Supreme Court Insight -- Supreme Court records and briefs
Black Thought and Culture -- Books and periodicals
Criminal Justice Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. Criminal Justice Abstracts contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation.
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles) as well as more than 120 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for 120 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc.
A rare view of what rush hour in London looked like in 1897. The dramatic and suspenseful newsreel announcing the crash of the Hindenburg zeppelin. President Ronald Reagan’s challenging speech at the Brandenburg Gate. Throughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. This collection is a treasure trove of archival and historical films from multiple sources.
The Prelinger Archives – a collection of films relating to U.S. cultural and social history and the evolution of everyday life in America.
The WPA Film Library – more than 2,800 clips and newsreels from the late 1800s onward.
The United Newsreel collection – the series of newsreels produced by the U.S. Office of War Information during World War II.
The Universal Newsreel collection – a series of seven- to 10-minute newsreels produced by Universal Studios that were released twice per week between 1929 and 1967.
Recordings from the National Archives and Records Administration of historic speeches and events.
From Oscar®, Emmy, and Peabody award-winning documentaries to A-list performances spanning the arts, Films On Demand has content that will both educate and entertain students and researchers on a wide range of curricular subjects, including history, biology, business and economics, engineering, computer science, technical and trade skills, art and architecture, music and dance, philosophy and religion, geography, environmental science, anthropology, language and literature, mathematics, psychology, sociology, political science, and more.
Top Producers including A&E, PBS, BBC Learning, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, HBO Documentary Films, PBS NewsHour, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, Annenberg Learner, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.
These simple, easy-to-understand video demonstrations cover a wide range of STEM subjects. The library offers access to 11 selected collections: Basic Biology, Advanced Biology, JoVE Core: Biology, Lab Manual: Biology; Chemistry; Physics; Psychology; JoVE Core: Social Psychology; Clinical Skills; Engineering; and Environmental Sciences. A Curriculum Specialist to help with syllabus mapping or other technical support is available for faculty; contact your library liaison for more information. Users should log in and create a profile - you must be logged in to embed video into your learning platform!
JoVE Science Education is content directly designed for undergraduate science study. There are 11 collections included within this Science Education offering, as follows; some are video textbooks, others demonstrate lab and field skills.
Basic Biology - Lab safety, using common equipment, basic techniques, handing lab animals
Advanced Biology - Common techniques, theories and procedures in sub-sections of Biology including Genetics, Cell Biology, Neuroscience and more
JoVE Core: Biology - a video textbook mapped to OpenStax Biology as well as Campbell's Biology. Great for intro bio and A&P
Lab Manual: Biology - instructor and student prep, execution and reporting on a number of experiments in Biology
Chemistry - Common techniques, theories and procedures in sub-sections of Chemistry including Orgo, Analytical, Inorgo and more
Physics - Theory and experiments detailing fundamentals of Physics study
Psychology - Collection of Psychology theory in Social, Behavioral, Developmental and other areas
JoVE Core: Social Psychology - video textbook on Social Psychology (new as of February 2020)
Clinical Skills - Three collections of physical examinations as well as nursing skills and emergency medicine. Great for any pre-health major
Engineering - Video fundamentals of Engineering in a number of fields including Mechanical, Biomedical and more
Environmental Sciences - Video fundamentals of Earth Science and more.
In response to the COVID-19 crisis, JSTOR is providing FREE access to its Archived Journal, Thematic, and Primary Source Collections through June 30, 2021! Click "More" for detailed list of these resources.
Archive Journal Collections:
Arts & Sciences I-XV
Ecology & Botany II
Lives of Literature
Primary Source Collections:
19th Century British Pamphlets
World Heritage Sites: Africa
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
TERC is now Peterson's Test & Career Prep! Prep for standardized tests! Find the colleges and universities of your dreams! Search for scholarships! Match your passion with your potential by taking a career quiz! Prepare for your certification, credentialing, or licensing exams for vocations in fields such as nursing, law enforcement, public safety, teaching, and more.
The Essential Collection is a list of 50 recordings selected by WSU faculty for our Addictions Counseling program. Watch master psychotherapists conducting real sessions and hear leading experts discuss their thoughts behind their intervention. These videos also capture the critical non-verbal aspects of therapy, including body language, facial expression, tone of voice, and the rhythm of the therapist-client interaction.
Video Titles available:
A Step Along the Way: A Family with a Drug Problem
Alan Marlatt on Harm Reduction for Substance Abuse
Cognitive Therapy for Addictions
Couples Therapy for Addictions: A Cognitive-Behavioral Approach
Creating Change: Building a Legislative Coalition
Developmental Aspects of Group Counseling: Process, Leadership, and Supervision
Down Every Year: A Demonstration of Depth Oriented Brief Therapy
Effectively Intervening with Violent Behavior: An Interview with Dr. Peter Fonagy
Emotionally Focused Therapy in Action
Emotionally Focused Therapy with Same-Sex Couples
Empowering Adults with Developmental Disabilities: A Creative Arts Therapies Approach
Encounter Groups for Addictions, Volume I: Evolution of the Encounter Group
Encounter Groups for Addictions, Volume II: Pitfalls & Solutions
Encounter Groups for Addictions, Volume III: Keys to Fostering Growth
Evidence-Based Psychotherapy Treatment Planning
Exploring Mezzo Systems
Group Therapy: An Addictions Perspective
Harm Reduction Therapy for Addictions
Integrating Therapy with 12-Step Programs
Integrative Family Therapy
Making a Difference: Influencing State Policy
Meth Inside Out: I. Human Impact
Meth Inside Out: II. Brain & Behavior
Meth Inside Out: III. Windows to Recovery
Mindfulness-Based Relapse Prevention for Addictions: Volume I
Mindfulness-Based Relapse Prevention for Addictions: Volume II
Narrative Family Therapy
Object-Relations Family Therapy
Policy Affects Practice & Students/Practioners Affect Policy
Psychodrama in Action, 1960's
Rational Emotive Behavior Therapy for Addictions
Reality Therapy for Addictions
Social Work Advocacy: The State Budget
Social Work: Practicing in a Century of Change
Social Workers Effecting Change: Legislative Advocacy
Stages of Change for Addictions
The 7 Skills for Addiction-Free Living: Alternatives to Substance Abuse
The 7 Skills for Addiction-Free Living: Assertiveness
The 7 Skills for Addiction-Free Living: Behavioral Self-Control
The 7 Skills for Addiction-Free Living: Managing Emotions
The 7 Skills for Addiction-Free Living: Problem Solving
The 7 Skills for Addiction-Free Living: Social Skills
The 7 Skills for Addiction-Free Living: Stress Management
The Counting Method: A Treatment Technique for PTSD
The Greying Elephant in the Room: Substance Abuse and Older Adults
Therapeutic Communities in Prisons: A Research Perspective
Treating Alcoholism in Psychotherapy: A Live Workshop
Treating Alcoholism in Psychotherapy: The Developmental Model in Action
Why am I Here? Engaging the Reluctant Client
Working for Social Justice: Ethics & Core Values of Social Work
The Sustainability Reference Center is a comprehensive full-text database covering all aspects of sustainability and corporate social responsibility. The Sustainability Reference Center offers content from more than 800 publications, including journals, monographs, magazines, and trade publications, all directly dealing with sustainability-related issues. The database also offers tens of thousands of additional sustainability-focused articles, benchmarks, and best practices, selected from thousands of trade and industry publications.
Access over 1400+ high impact, broadcast quality professional development videos for Education students and faculty. Included in the Library are:150 uncut videos (unedited footage of classrooms) for a real view of the classroom; used for calibration Teaching exercises with rubrics and creating inter-rater reliability and 41 DIY videos which are video submissions from the field featuring award winning teacher leaders, focusing on points of instruction which prove challenging for teachers. It also provides access to the popular blog, Tchers’ Voice with tips, new ideas and concepts, and ways of using videos series to improve learning.