Skip to main content

Nursing & Medicine Research Guide: Overview - Best Links for Research

A good starting point for research in medical fields.

START WITH CREDO REFERENCE

Search
Start your topic research in Health & Medicine with an encyclopedic or similar resource from Credo Reference!

Cross-searches over 60 full text reference books with a single search. Find facts and background material, images, sound files, animations, videos and topic pages that organize research tools available for your topic. There is also a concept map, interactive software to map out and focus your chosen research topic.

Credo Health & Medicine Topic Pages

With one click, get encyclopedia summary articles, Mind Maps, charts and graphs, related articles, and more on your research topic!

AND ALSO THESE RESOURCES

Credo Health & Medicine Reference A-Z Titles List

MedlinePlus Health Topics - read about symptoms, causes, treatment and prevention for over 1000 diseases, illnesses, health conditions and wellness issues. Provided by the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus health topics are regularly reviewed, and links are updated daily.

Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) Browser

Search the Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine

AccessScience Search Widget

AccessScience

Access Science by McGraw Hill provides access to more than 8700 articles and Research Reviews covering all major scientific disciplines and encompassing the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology; 115,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; 3000 biographies of well-known scientific figures; 20,000+ downloadable images and animations illustrating key topics, and much more!

TRIP Clinical Search Engine - NEW!

WSU Recommended Databases

BEST

  • CINAHL Complete - The authoritative resource for over 1,400 full-text nursing and allied health journals and e-books
  • Nursing Resource Center - brings together in an easy-to-use interface disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts. The information is written in accessible language for students completing class assignments and preparing for clinicals as they learn how to care for and treat patients. Search results are returned in tabs that correspond to steps in the nursing process.
  • Nursing & Allied Health Source. This database provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more. This database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 690 titles, with over 570 titles in full-text.
  • Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile) - provides access to academic journals and other reference content covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content for professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

MORE: In addition to general academic databases, there are separate indexes devoted exclusively to medical and health topics.

  • Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic. Designed for doctors, nurses, students, clinical specialists with access to 100 full text journals covering clinical medicine, nursing, health care system, etc. All 100 journals are also indexed in MEDLINE.
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition - food and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine, and general health. Full text for nearly 300 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men's Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for 180 general health and professional health care publications.
  • PsycINFO. Over 1.5 million records from 1887 to the present in what is considered to be the most comprehensive international database of psychology. Includes academic research and practice literature in the fields of medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, social science and organizational behavior.
  • Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) - from Gale, provides access to over 2.5 million articles; can limit results to full text and/or peer reviewed titles.
  • Health & Medical Collection. This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
  • Psychology Database.  This database allows you to search the core literature in the field of psychology.
  • Public Health Database.  This database allows you to search the core literature in the field of public health.
  • Science Direct  - A leading full-text scientific database offering almost 14 million journal articles from more than 3,800 peer-reviewed journals and book chapters from more than 35,000 books. Covers topics in the health & life sciences and the social & behavioral sciences.

MEDLINE OPTIONS:

GOVERNMENT:

Health Sciences & Electronic Resources Librarian

William Lundmark's picture
William Lundmark
Contact:
Learning Resource Center Room 226
508-929-8897

DRUGS & SUPPLEMENTS

A gateway to information on over 53,000 substances (including over 200,000 unique searchable drug names and their synonyms) compiled from NLM sources and other US government agencies. Link to completed or ongoing clinical trials, general use and side effects information, specialized summaries for nursing mothers, and published literature abstracts and free full-text articles, when available, without conducting multiple searches in various sources.
 

Medline Plus Drugs & Supplements - learn about your prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.

AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish. Includes more than a thousand drug information monographs written in lay language for consumers.

DailyMed provides trustworthy information about marketed drugs in the United States. DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This Web site provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.

Merck Manual Professional Version - First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Manual is one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers, with concise information on health topics, symptoms, emergencies, drug information with pill identifier, news & commentary, and other resources on common medical tests, medical terms, abbreviations, images and more!