Skip to main content

Ethnic Studies: Articles, Journals, and Databases

Articles, Journals and Databases

database is a digital library containing electronic resources dedicated to a particular subject. Databases are owned by publishers who restrict access to subscribers only. The WSU library subscribes to many different databases that students and faculty may access for free. 

Journals (also called periodicals) contain scholarly articles written by different authors. They are usually dedicated to a particular academic discipline and are often published monthly or quarterly. Some journals are peer reviewed which means a panel of experts have reviewed each article before publication Compared to books, journal articles tend to be shorter in length and focus on narrower topics. 

For more detailed information about using databases, visit our guide on the topic. 

How to Get an Article

History Databases

U.S. History in Context

An overview of U.S. history covering the most-studied events, people and issues in a comprehensive, contextual, media-rich online collection of historical information. Combines reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, scholarly analysis, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites. Can cross-search with World History in Context.

World History in Context 

An overview of World History covering events, movements and individuals chronologically over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe. A comprehensive multicultural, global and research-based online collection of reference works, scholarly analysis, full-text periodicals, primary documents, historical maps, atlases, image galleries, video and audio selections from archival newsreels and other sources. Can cross-search with U.S. History in Context.

Global Issues in Context 

GIC offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Topic and country portals bring together relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each gateway page includes an overview, "perspectives" articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information plus multimedia including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs.

Umbra African American Database

The Umbra Search  database features African American resources from across the University of Minnesota collection. 

Sociology Databases

Sociological Abstracts

This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles

ProQuest Sociology

This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection 

This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals

ProQuest Research Library 

This resource covers publications on social science information for researchers of all levels.

International Bibliography of Social Sciences 

This database includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.

Gender Studies Collection 

A comprehensive periodical collection supporting aspects of gender in culture and society. 

 

Why can I only access an abstract?

The library's subscription doesn't always include every resource in a particular database. If you search a database and find only an abstract but want the entire article, you can request it through Interlibrary loan. 

Gender and Women's Studies Resources

Gender Studies Collection 

Collection covering journal articles on gender studies, sexual behavior surveys, family and marital issues, gay and lesbian rights, health aspects and many more.

 
Women’s Studies Abstracts 1974-2004, 2008-present
Print index to scholarly journals shelved in the Periodicals/Indexes area of the Library. 

Art and Culture Databases

Art Full Text 

Comprehensive resource with hundreds of peer-reviewed journals. Covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture.

Getty Publications Visual Library 

View free digital backlist titles from the Getty Publication Archives.

IPL: Arts and Humanities 

Over 200 fine arts web sites curated by IPL2, a consortium of library and information science professionals.

Pop Culture Universe

Authoritative digital database on popular culture in America, both past and present; thousands of images, hundreds of vetted and updated web links. 

What if we don't have the materials you want?

You can order books or journal articles through Interlibrary loan

This service is free of charge, but it may take a few days.