Skip to main content

CJ339 Probation, Parole and Community Corrections: Recommended Websites

Why Use These Free Sites

It is difficult to find verified, research material freely available on the open web (internet). Many results returned from a search engine give you unrelaible, duplicate information that is rarely backed up by research. The sites listed here are the best to use if you need to supplement what you found in our subscription databases. 

Legal Research

Legal Research Tips - Sometimes you need to look up a law to get an answer to your legal question. To find a law, statute, code section, or case, see the FAQs on this site from Nolo Press. Also definitions, statutes, federal and state links, local ordinances.

General Websites for Criminal Justice

Justice Information Center - From the National Criminal Justice Reference Service.  Links to Web sites and full-text documents of statistical data and scholarly research.  Arranged by broad subject

U. S. Department of Justice - Statistics and research about fighting crime, the justice system, hot topics, and crime victims, including violence against women and family violence.

Criminal Justice Resources - from Michigan State University. Very comprehensive with 70 categories; updated continuously.

World Criminal Justice Library Electronic Network - maintained at Rutgers University. Links, library catalogs, statistical sources and more.

World Fact Book of Criminal Justice Systems - narrative descriptions of the criminal justice systems of 45 countries

  • Constitution Finder - Links to constitutions of foreign countries. Texts are usually in English.

Selective List of Free Websites

United States Code "The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives." (Home page)

US Supreme Court Opinions -Full text of all decisions from 1893 to date. Can be searched by citation, case title, and full text

Supreme Court Collection  From the Legal Information Institute, Cornell University. Provides full text of all US Supreme Court decisions since 1990, plus 610 of the most significant earlier decisions. Indexed by topic, date, and parties.

United State Public Laws 1973-Present - From Thomas/Library of Congress; access to full text of Public Laws beginning with those of the 93rd Congress. Listed by law number and bill number.

 

Government Resources

US Government Links - our Web page with links to the US Constitution, Federal Register, Congressional Record, and more