Skip to main content

Other Libraries: EBooks

Finding books and other materials at other libraries.

ebooks from the Worcester State University Library

The following sources for ebooks are available through the WSU Library:

  • eBooks on EBSCO Host  offers academic titles and titles in the public domain.  Video tutorials on searching and downloading  EBSCO ebooks are available.
  • *Ebrary offers more than 77,000 books.  The books are non-fiction and scholarly in nature.  Ebrary books may be downloaded to your computer (or tablet) for      a 2-week period or sections may be saved and/or printed.  See the Ebrary Quick Guide for details.
  •  Credo Reference  offers over 600+ reference books online with a single search.  Credo Reference also has “concept map” interactive software to map out and focus your chosen research topic.
  •  Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of 30+ encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
  •  Oxford Reference Online offers 100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books for foreign languages quotations,mythology, science, medicine, philosophy, and more. 
  • Oxford Scholarship Online Oxford Scholarship Online offers quality content with instant and comprehensive coverage of over 6,500 titles in 19 subject areas, covering the humanities, social sciences, sciences, medicine, and law.

* IF YOU PLAN TO ACCESS THIS SOURCE FROM OUTSIDE THE WSU CAMPUS NETWORK, YOU MUST SET UP VPN ACCESS FIRST.  See the instructions here.

How to Use Google Books for Research

This brief  video was originally created for teachers to assist students.  However, it offers good tips on using Google books effectively.  (Used with permission of Richard Byrne.)

 

ebooks Collections on the World Wide Web

The following sites offer books in electronic format at no charge:

Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts     A collection of public domain and open access documents with a focus on American and English literature as well as Western philosophy.

Digital Book Index     Digital Book Index provides links to more than 165,000 full-text digital books from more than 1800 commercial and non-commercial publishers, universities, and various private sites. More than 140,000 of these books, texts, and documents are available free.

EServer     EServer is a digital humanities venture  where writers, editors and scholars publish over 35,000 works free of charge

Free e-books    Independent writers offer both entertaining fiction/romance for your enjoyment and non-fiction to help you find information from self-help to business growth.

Free Medical Books 

Google Books  Search and preview millions of books from libraries and publishers worldwide using Google Book Search. Discover a new favorite or unearth an old classic.  (See the "How to Use Google Books for Research" video clip on this page.)

HathiTrust Digital Library       HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

The Library of the Internet: Shakespeare Edition   Shakespeare’s fully-edited plays and poems, critical and reference materials, and a full exploration of the context of Shakespeare’s writing.

Making of America  Making of America (MoA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

National Academies Press  The National Academies Press (NAP) was created by the National Academy of Sciences to publish the reports of the National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine, and National Research Council, all operating under a charter granted by the Congress of the United States. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative information on important matters in science and health policy

Online Books Page    Lists over 1 million free books on the Web

 Online Medieval and Classical Library  The Online Medieval and Classical Library (OMACL) is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization.

Open Library Open Library is an open, editable library catalog, building towards a web page for every book ever published.

Page by Page Books    Hundreds of classic books you can read right now.

Project Bartleby  “The preeminent publisher of reference and verse providing students, researchers and the intellectually curious with unlimited access to books and information on the web, free of charge.”

Project Gutenberg   Offers over 45,000 free ebooks. Download them or read them online.

Voice of the Shuttle    Provides an annotated guide to online primary and secondary resources in the humanities.