Skip to main content

Mathematics Research Guide: eReference Books

A good place to get started with research topics in math and statistics

Start Here

Credo Reference  Cross search over 600 full text reference books with a single search. Find facts and background material in authoritative, in-depth articles. Click a button and your search can be continued in our article databases or the WSU Library's Online Catalog

Contains images, sound files, animations, videos and topic pages that organize research tools available for your topic. There is also a concept map, interactive software to map out and focus your chosen research topic.

Encyclopedia

McGraw Hill's Encyclopedia of Science and Technology   via online portal Access Science

Complete text of the 11th edition (20 volumes, 2012) . Written by leading subject experts in the world, 38 of whom are Noble Prize winners. The online site also includes over 3,000 in-depth biographies of leading scientists, continually updated news feed from Science News, on breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology, from biology, Earth and environmental sciences, chemistry, physics and beyond.

Includes 110,000 definitions taken from the McGraw Hill Dictionary of Scientific Terms.

Princeton Companion to Mathematics

  

The Princeton Companion to Mathematics

Full text, online through our subscription to Credo Reference.

Introduces basic mathematical tools and vocabulary; traces the development of modern mathematics; explains essential terms and concepts; examines core ideas in major areas of mathematics; describes the achievements of scores of famous mathematicians; and explores the impact of mathematics on other disciplines such as biology, finance, and music.

Princeton University Press, 2008

Oxford Dictionary of Mathematics

 Oxford Concise Dictionary of Mathematics

 Authoritative and reliable, this A-Z provides jargon-free definitions for even the most technical mathematical terms. With 3,000 entries ranging from Achilles paradox to zero matrix, it covers all commonly encountered terms and concepts from pure and applied mathematics and statistics, for example, linear algebra, optimisation, nonlinear equations, and differential equations.

In addition, there are entries on major mathematicians and on topics of more general interest, such as fractals, game theory, and chaos

 

4th edition, Oxford University Press, 2009

 Available full text online through our subscription to Oxford Reference

Penguin Dictionary of Mathematics

Penguin Dictionary of Mathematics

Full text online through our subscription to Credo Reference.

From algebra to number theory, statistics to mechanics, this versatile and completely updated reference takes in all branches of pure and applied mathematics.

Penguin, 2008.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Mathematics. 4 volumes, 2002.

 

Explains mathematical concepts with an historical overview of the field. Explores the uses and effects of math in daily life. Directed to academic readers.

Available full text through our subscription to The Gale Virtual Reference Library.