Skip to main content

Mathematics Research Guide: Statistical Data

A good place to get started with research topics in math and statistics

Dictionary of Statistics

Oxford Dictionary of Statistics. 2nd ed, 2008

Full text through our subscription to Oxford Reference Online.

This wide-ranging, jargon-free dictionary contains over 2,000 entries on all aspects of statistics including terms used in computing, mathematics, operational research, and probability, as well as biographical information on over 200 key figures in the field, and coverage of statistical journals and societies.

It embraces the whole multi-disciplinary spectrum of this complex subject, and is invaluable for students and professionals.

Google Dataset

50 States

American Fact Finder

Provided by the U.S. Census Bureau; info from all 50 states

Guide to State and Local Government Internet Sites 

Links to each state, plus D.C., Puerto Rico, U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam and more territories. Also multi-state sites, state agencies, and other links such as job listings, state capital newsletters, think tanks, etc. 

Cities and Town Info

Housing, transportation, crime, commuting, etc.

50 States and Capitals -

Large array of information on each state, 5 US territories, & DC.

County and City Data Books

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book 

 

International Statistics

OECD Statistics Portal

Provides access to a range of international statistics.

Provides a global centre for data on international trade, national accounts, energy, industry, environment, transport and demographic and social statistics gathered from many national and international sources.
Lists links to a number of international statistics organizations.
Gives a list of links to pages about statistics or about statistics programs.
Statistics from the World Health Organization.
For a fact-based world view. The Gapminder Foundation (a non-profit organization) provides visual and interactive representations of statistics and data.
NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. You can generate maps and graphs
on all kinds of statistics with ease.
 

UNESCO Institute for Statistics  the first stop for education data from around the world.