LibGuides: Sociology: Find Articles and more

Ask Us!

Ask a Librarian. Email, call, text, or chat. We are happy to help!

What is a Scholarly Journal?

A scholarly journal publishes research articles by academics or experts in a discipline. The articles usually undergo peer-review, which means that they are evaluated by other experts in the field before publication.

For more on the different types of periodicals:

Distinguishing Scholarly from Non-Scholarly Periodicals: A Checklist of Criteria from Cornell University Library

Search for Articles in WSU Online Databases

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines: culture & social structure, family & marriage, poverty & homelessness, race & ethnicity, social change and economic development, sociology of health & medicine, Sociology of education as well as anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development. Special feature: Figures & Tables Search to search specifically for data and charts within journals and books.

ProQuest Sociology
This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.

Social Sciences Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Search international literature for the social sciences with access to abstracts, indexing and full text of journal articles, books, dissertations, working papers and more. Featured databases: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), PAIS International, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA), ProQuest Social Science Journals, ProQuest Political Science, ProQuest Research Library: Social Sciences and more.

ProQuest Research Library: Social Sciences
This resource covers publications on social science information for researchers of all levels.Subject coverage:
Sociology, Psychology, Communications, Political Science, Linguistics, Criminology, Education.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. Broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals and 7,000 books are included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles. Subject coverage: Anthropology, Archaeology, Cultural studies, Demography, Economics, Education, Ethnology and ethnography, Political science, Religious studies, Sociology

Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)
Collection covering journal articles on such topics as gender studies, sexual behavior surveys, family and marital issue, gay and lesbian rights, health aspects and many more.
AgeLine
Provides access to literature on social gerontology and includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics, and public policy.
AgeLine indexes over 200 journals, books, book chapters, and reports. Publication coverage is from 1978 to the present, with selected coverage from 1966-1977.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection
Multidisciplinary digital archive of scholarly journals. Arts & Sciences Collection I, II and IV
Archive Journal Collections:
Arts & Sciences I-XV
Business IV
Hebrew Journals
Ireland
Life Sciences
Lives of Literature
Public Health Journals
Security Studies
Sustainability
AND
Primary Source Collections:
19th Century British Pamphlets
World Heritage Sites: Africa
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
Global Plants

How to Get an Article

Browse Databases
A-Z list of all Research Databases available at WSU.
Find Publications
Search by Journal Title to identify which WSU Database has the full-text online.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
If it is not in the WSU Library, use the Article Request form to get digital photocopies of articles from other libraries.