Medline Plus Health Topics - read about symptoms, causes, treatment and prevention for over 1000 diseases, illnesses, health conditions and wellness issues. MedlinePlus health topics are regularly reviewed, and links are updated daily.
Credo Reference - cross-search over 600 full text reference books with a single search. Find facts and background material in authoritative, in-depth articles. Click a button and your search can be continued in our article databases or the WSU Library's Online Catalog.
Contains images, sound files, animations, videos and topic pages that organize research tools available for your topic. There is also a concept map, interactive software to map out and focus your chosen research topic.
Access Science by McGraw Hill provides access to more than 8500 articles and Research Reviews covering all major scientific disciplines and encompassing the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology; 115,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; 3000 biographies of well-known scientific figures; 18,000+ downloadable images and animations illustrating key topics. The site also includes weekly news updates on breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology resources for students, and links to Web sites for further research. Full access to 7,100 articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and it is updated daily.
AgeLine Focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. Includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics and public policy.
AGRICOLA - FREE index with over 3.5 million bibliographic records covering all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines; browse by subject or use the search box - there is an entire section devoted to food and nutrition.This is the primary public database for access to world-wide agricultural information.
Centers for Disease Control (CDC) – U.S. government agency site with information on: Diseases & Conditions; Healthy Living; Travelers' Health; Emergency Preparedness, and More CDC Info, including data and statistics!
Health Reference Center Academic - from Gale, with over 2.5 million articles; results can be limited to full text and/or peer reviewed titles. Displays scholarly resources first; also great for links to other formats such as audio and video.
Health Source - Consumer Edition - EBSCO'S collection of consumer health information, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - this database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic - Designed for doctors, nurses, students, clinical specialists by EBSCO with access to 100 full text journals covering clinical medicine, nursing, health care system, etc. All 100 journals are also indexed in MEDLINE.
ProQuest Family Health - Journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry
ProQuest Health Management Articles pertaining to the business side of hospitals and healthcare. Non-clinical information covering all aspects of health administration: public health and safety, hospitals, finance, personnel management, insurance, labor relations and law.
Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce (PHPartners) - A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries helping the public health workforce find and use information effectively to improve and protect the public's health. Provides up-to-date information and news on public health topics, Health Data Tools & Statistics for states, counties, and localities, and much more!
Public Affairs International Service (PAIS) - index for public affairs and world issues with coverage from 1972 to the present. An index to over 1/2 million articles, books, government documents, Internet sites and documents from more than 120 countries. Useful for global issues in health and nutrition. Can be searched on its own, but it's better to search the title through the larger, full text
Public Health Database (Proquest). ProQuest Public Health delivers core public health literature with centralized access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text. With journals, news, trade publications, reports and more, ProQuest Public Health covers a wide variety of disciplines ranging from social sciences and biological sciences to business. Journal results are indexed from core literature collected from a variety of publishers using appropriate public-health terminology.
Social Sciences Premium Collection. This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals.
In December 2016, the National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR) released NICHSR ONESearch. This consolidated search site allows researchers to search two unique databases and two specialized web portals with one simple search:
See the Search Tips for NICHSR ONESearch FAQ for additional information.