English and Literature: Reference Resources

Search over 600 reference books along with images and concept mapping tools. Contains a significant collection of literature resources such as The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English, Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century and Key Terms in Literary Theory.

Subject, language and quotation dictionaries plus in-depth Encyclopedias and Companions from Oxford University Press. Literature titles include: A Dictionary of Critical Theory, The Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms, The Oxford Companions to Literature and Oxford Reader's Companions.

Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over 600,000 words - past and present - from across the English-speaking world.

Biographical information spanning history and geography providing multidisciplinary contextualized content on notable figures and the societal forces that have shaped their lives. Entries feature multi-media content from reference sources, academic journals, news sources, magazines and selected websites and include current historical information and snapshot summaries of key information. Contains the Contemporary Authors Series, Contemporary Poets, Dictionary of American Biography, Dictionary of British Literary Biography, the St. James Guides to Writers, and more.

In-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers of the world, original commentary on the history and influence of literary movements from all time periods and the development of literary genres. Provides full-text content of nearly 900 books from the print series: U.S. Authors, English Writers, World Authors, Masterwork Studies, and Studies in Short Fiction.

Start here for background information on most topics with the web version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica and links to vetted websites. With links to the World Atlas, Biographies, and more.

This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.