Skip to main content

Computer Science Research Guide: Overview

A good starting point for research in computer science topics.

Start Here

Credo Reference  Cross search over 600 full text reference books with a single search. Find facts and background material in authoritative, in-depth articles. Click a button and your search can be continued in our article databases or the WSU Library's Online Catalog

Contains images, sound files, animations, videos and topic pages that organize research tools available for your topic. There is also a concept map, interactive software to map out and focus your chosen research topic.

Also Useful

McGraw Hill's Encyclopedia of Science and Technology   via online portal Access Science

Complete text of the 11th edition (2012) . Written by leading subject experts in the world, 38 of whom are Noble Prize winners. The online site also includes over 3,000 in-depth biographies of leading scientists, continually updated news feed from Science News, on breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology, from biology, Earth and environmental sciences, chemistry, physics and beyond.

Includes 110,000 definitions taken from the McGraw Hill Dictionary of Scientific Terms.

One Search for all WSU Library Materials

WSU Databases

ProQuest Computing Search top computing journals in full text for research on such subjects as database design, software development, web commerce, business Intranets and the Internet.

Science Direct A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books

ProQuest Science Journals Definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. Coverage includes general science, materials science, aerospace, engineering, computers, physics, telecommunications, transportation, and military science.

ProQuest Tellecommunications Looking for the latest news on WAP technology, following market penetration of new technologies, or continually shifting business conditions and the ever-expanding reach of the wireless, Internet, and long-distance industries, then this is the database to use.

JSTOR Is an online archive of scholarly journals which contains high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Arts & Sciences Collection I, II and IV only.

Finding Books in Math and Computer Science

The list below is a breakdown of the Call Number ranges and the specific area of mathematics and computer science covered. To browse the collection just go to these call numbers on the 3rd floor of the LRC, or search in the Library Catalog using these key terms.

Suubclass Q :

  • Q 300-390    Cybernetics
  • Q 350-390    Information theory

Subclass QA: QA1-QA939

  • QA 1-43         General
  • QA 47-59       Tables
  • QA 71-90        Instruments and machines
  • QA 75-76.95   Calculating machines
  • QA 75.5-76.95 Electronic computers.  Computer science
  • QA 76.75-76.765  Computer software
  • QA 101-145     Elementary Mathematics - Arithmetic
  • QA 150-272.5   Algebra
  • QA 273-280      Probabilities. Mathematical statistics
  • QA 299.6-433    Analysis
  • QA 440-699       Geometry. Trigonometry. Topology
  • QA 801-939       Analytic mechanics

Subclass T:

  • TK 7885 - 7895  Computer engineering; computer hardware

The library has a wide variety of eBooks that cover computer science, mathematics and statistics. Just use the search box on the Library Website (or above, on this page), and then limit your search to books / ebooks. 

Subject Guide