Skip to main content

Nursing & Medicine Research Guide: More Recommended Websites

A good starting point for research in medical fields.

Free and Open Access Full Text Sources

  • Free Medical Journals - 1,481 journals - not always the latest issues as electronic availability is sometimes held by the publishers for 6 months.
  • Free Books 4 Doctors - anyone can read the 365  medical texts, 38 of which are in Spanish. 
  • National Academies Press - read more than 3,000 books free online; purchase chapters in PDF format
  • National Center for Biotechnology Information Medical Bookshelf -  The Bookshelf is a growing collection of biomedical books that can be searched directly by typing a concept into the textbox. From NCBI with links to abstracts in PubMed
  • Medical Image Database - images can be browsed by organ system,  users can offer their own diagnosis before learning the particulars of each discrete medical case case that has been selected by the peer review board. Site also features an advanced search engine for users who know exactly what they want
  • E Books - use free electronic texts when you can't find the printed book

More recommended online resources for professionals

  • CyberNurse - Practical advice for nurses and nursing students. A well-written and entertaining site, online since 1997.
  • Global Health Facts - A data bank of world health information, can sort by country, disease, condition, program, or demographic
  • Gray's Anatomy - classic edition (1918). Searchable by keyword, table of contents, or subject. Contains 13,000 entries. Current print edition in WSC Reference.
  • Lab Tests Onlinean award-winning resource from the American Academy of Clinical Chemistry that helps patients to better understand the many clinical laboratory tests that play a critical role in diagnosing, monitoring, and treating a broad range of conditions, including cancer, diabetes, heart disease, and infectious diseases. It also has information on conditions/diseases and standard health screenings by age group.
  • Lippincott Nursing Center - a broad-based site offering links to a wealth of information specific to nurses, including 50 journals - some articles available for a small fee ($6.95)
  • Martindale's Virtual Nursing Center - great number of resources, updated daily. Covers case studies, online journals, cross-sectional images to learn anatomy. 
  • Merck Manual Professional Version - First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Manual is one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers, with concise information on health topics, symptoms, emergencies, drug information with pill identifier, news & commentary, and other resources on common medical tests, medical terms, abbreviations, images and more!
  • Medline Plus Dictionary
  • Medpedia - A collaborative encyclopedia and resource for information about health, medicine and the body edited by physicians & Ph.D.s
  • Nurse Web Search - links to the top ten nursing web sites, search box to locate Internet resources, other search engines, NLM/NIH resources, focus sites on specific conditions; also links to general search engines.
  • Nursing Sites on the WWW - from the University of Buffalo Health Science Library
  • Nursing World - from the American Nurses Assoc.
  • PDR+ for Patients - Prescriber's Digital Reference+ for Patients provides search and browse for over 2,300 drug guides by drug name.
  • Specialized Information Service - a division of the National Library of Medicine, responsible for information resources and services in toxicology, environmental health, chemistry, HIV/AIDS, and specialized topics in minority health
  • U.S. Pharmacopeia - The U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention (USP) is a scientific nonprofit organization that sets standards for the identity, strength, quality, and purity of medicines, food ingredients, and dietary supplements manufactured, distributed and consumed worldwide. USP’s drug standards are enforceable in the United States by the Food and Drug Administration, and these standards are used in more than 140 countries.
  • Whole Health MD - a source for alternative medicine, complementary medicine, and integrative medicine. A searchable site combining the best of conventional medicine and alternative therapies. Features the Healing Kitchen and a Reference Library of chronic conditions, supplements, food, and a glossary.

Health Sciences & Electronic Resources Librarian

William Lundmark's picture
William Lundmark
Contact:
Learning Resource Center Room 226
508-929-8897

NIH News in Health Newsfeed

Loading ...