LibGuides: Criminal Justice Research Guide: Overview

Start Here

Credo Reference - a supercharged Wikipedia including encyclopedias and dictionaries from across disciplines. More than 900 full text reference books. Click a button and your search can be continued in our article databases or the WSU Library's Online Catalog.

Contains images, sound files, animations, videos and topic pages that organize research tools available for your topic. There is also a concept map, interactive software to map out and focus your chosen research topic.

Encyclopedias

Subject specialized full text eBooks.

West's Encyclopedia of American Law 2nd edition, 13 vols. Provides current information on more than 5,000 legal topics. Includes completely revised articles covering important issues, biographies, definitions of legal terms and more.

Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law 3rd edition, 2 vols (2013) This encyclopedia containing: brief descriptions of each issue's historical background, covering important statutes and cases; profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations; and details of how laws and regulations vary from state to state.

One Search for all WSU Library Materials

WSU Databases in Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile)
Whether studying to become a lawyer or law enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have access to over 700 journals. Primarily periodicals, but includes academic journals, magazines, books, news and multimedia, covering law enforcement, paralegal topics, homeland security and all aspects of criminal justice.
Criminal Justice Abstracts (EBSCO)
Criminal Justice Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. Criminal Justice Abstracts contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline. Subject areas covered include: criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation.
Criminal Justice Database (1981 - current)
Comprehensive collection of U.S. and international criminal justice journals including information in law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, industrial security and more.
HeinOnline Academic Government, Politics & Law (U.S.)
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of both U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals, all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, and access to the full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase. This Government, Politics & Law HeinOnline 18-database package offers special collections on Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law and Women and the Law among others.
Lexis Nexis
Nexis Uni™, the new interface for Lexis/Nexis, features more than 10,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
NexisUni YouTube tutorials, https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLdbPh35WxTMqcEizkbuKF6ev9PIvupOAJ
Newspaper Source
Full text for more than 40 U.S. and International newspapers, 389 U.S. regional newspapers. Also provides full text TV and radio news transcripts.
PAIS Index
The Public Affairs Information Service, PAIS, provides selected coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference papers, web content and more. PAIS International covers 1972 - present; PAIS Archive includes the content from printed volumes published 1915-1976. While this title can be searched on its own, it's best to search it through the full-text ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection.