LibGuides: Archives: Archives Collections

WSU Archives Finding Aids

Collections related to Worcester State include core historical materials such as course catalogs, yearbooks, and commencement materials as well as selected faculty papers, student papers, and information about events, programs, and the campus.

Alumni and Advancement Collection, 1886-2023
Biographical information about Worcester State Alumni and activities of the Graduates' and Alumni Associations and the Development Office. Include historic scrapbooks containing clippings, photographs, and ephemera.
Amnesty International Student Organization, 2007-2012
Records related to administration, events and programming of the WSU student organization.
Anniversaries, 1914-2013
Published materials and meeting minutes detailing planning and staging of university anniversary commemorations. The bulk of materials relate to the 100th (1974) and the 125th (1999) observances.

Apprenticeship Materials, 1875-1904
Descriptions of coursework, lectures, campus and town life, and classroom observations compiled by students enrolled in Worcester State's apprenticeship program.
Buildings and Grounds, 1880-2015
These materials document construction and maintenance of campus buildings, equipment, and grounds of Worcester State University's original and current campuses. Included are maintenance and expense reports, construction project descriptions, bids and contracts, and some architectural renderings of buildings and grounds.
Center for the Study of Human Rights, 2004-2021
Materials related to programming and events created or sponsored by Worcester State's Center for the Study of Human Rights (CHSR).
Worcester State Chess Club, 1991-2019
Records of the Chess Club student organization at Worcester State University.
Commencement Materials, 1874-2023
Commencement materials consist largely of graduation program booklets with some related materials. Included are names of graduates, and dates and locations of graduation programs and related events such as lectures, dinners, and musical performances.
Course Catalogs and Related Materials, 1874-2021
Descriptions of course offerings, degree programs, recreational and athletic opportunities, and campus amenities from 1874 to the present. Older volumes include names of students, faculty and staff. Not all volumes are represented in this collection.
Directories, 1999-2019
Telephone and office directories for Worcester State faculty and staff, from1999-present.
Enactus Student Organization, 2004-2019
Records related to the Enactus Student Organization at Worcester State University.
Events and Programs, 1999-2023
Materials related to campus-wide events and programs including convocations, conferences, and awards ceremonies.
Fact Books, 1992-2019
Published materials detailing statistics, academic programs, demographics, achievements, and physical facilities of Worcester State University.
Faculty Papers and Related, 1894-2019
Papers of Worcester State Faculty and related materials. Includes published work and unpublished drafts as well as materials related to teaching and special programs.
Handbooks and Guides, 1933-2015
Student and faculty handbooks and guides detailing general information about campus and local amenities, academic programs, special events, policies and procedures, and information for faculty and staff.
HIstorical Worcester State Administration, 1871-1999
Historical materials related to administrative activities at Worcester State dating from the 1870s to the 1960s.
Historical Clippings, 1945-2007
Newspaper clippings and related materials about Worcester State's history.
Kappa Delta Pi Honor Society, 1933-2004
Records of the Kappa Delta Pi (KDP) Honor Society, Worcester State Chapter. Including founding documents and materials related to programs, events, and membership.
Library Collection, 1878-2023
Materials related to library services at Worcester State University. Includes annual reports for the library and the LRC as well as information about technical services and acquisitions.
Lillian R. Goodman Nursing Department Collection, 1979-2009
This collection documents some graduating classes and includes information about administration and programming.
Literary Journals,1935-1997
Collections of poems, prose, short stories, and other literature created and published by the students of Worcester State from the 1930s through to the 1990s.
Marketing Department, 1973-2012
Includes "Communique" and "The Willow" newsletters published by the Worcester State Marketing Department as well as 1200 disks of Photographs documenting campus people, places and events from 2001-2009. An inventory of photographic disks is available upon request.
Office of Student Involvement, 1978-2017
Materials including photographs, event calendars and flyers, and administrative records related to the Office of Student Involvement and the Student Center.
President Clinton Carpenter Papers, 1932-1991
Papers and related ephemera of former Worcester State President Clinton Carpenter (1892-1945) who served in office from 1939-1945.
President Kalyan Ghosh papers (1992-2003)
Papers pf Worcester State President, Dr. Kaylan Ghosh (1992-2002)
President Joseph Orze Papers, 1975-1986
The papers of Worcester State President, Dr. Joseph Orze (1975-1982).
President Eugene Sullivan Papers, 1947-1960
Papers of President Eugene Sullivan (1905-1981) who was WSU president from 1947-1970. Included are personal and professional correspondence and materials related to WSU's role educating veterans through the National Defense Fund Education Act.
President Phillip Vario Papers, 1977-1990
Papers of former Worcester State President Dr. Philip D. Vairo (1933- ), who served in office from 1982-1991.
President William Aspinwall Papers, 1912-1940
Papers of former Worcester State President William B. Aspinwall (1874-1955) who served in office from 1912-1940.
Rural Education Conferences, 1913-1922
Materials related to the Rural Education Conferences organized by Worcester State.
Student Autobiographies, 1938-1956
Autobiographies of graduating students written as resumes. Includes both personal and academic details. See finding aid for details about access restrictions.
Student Government Association, 1964-2021
Papers related to WSU's Student Government Association including the Student Senate and former Student Advisory Council.
Student Newspapers, 1942-2018
"The Acorn", "The Student Voice", The New Worcester Spy" and related items published by students of Worcester State.
Student Papers and Related, 1912-2016
Varied materials created or collected by students and alumni of Worcester State.
Urban Action Institute, 1980-2017
Materials related to WSU's Urban Action Institute including records of administrative activities, grants and funding, and records of events and programs.
Visual and Performing Arts Department, 1992-2022
Materials related to the Visual and Performing Arts Department (VPA) consisting of promotional materials for performances and other events.
Women's Gender and Sexuality Studies Collection, 1981-2015
Records of the Women's Gender and Sexuality Studies program.
Worcester State Memorabilia 1960-2023
Objects with Worcester State insignia manufactured and distributed as memorabilia or promotional items.
Yearbooks, 1926-2011
Print yearbooks for Worcester State 1935-2011 absent are volumes 1938, 1956.

Special Collections Finding Aids

The WSU Special Collections includes the archives of the former Becker College; the papers of Poet and activist Dennis Brutus; the Malcolm Gordon Cartoon Collection; and the Bruce Cohen Labor Collection.

Becker College Collection, 1889-2020
Archival collection from the former Becker College including selected materials from the former Leicester Junior College. link to online finding aid
Dennis Brutus Papers, 1858-2013
The Dennis Brutus Collection at WSU encompassing faculty and personal papers, poetry and writings; and related reference collections of South African activist and poet, Dennis Brutus (1924-2009).
Bruce Cohen Papers, 1907-2018
Faculty papers of former WSU history professor, Bruce Cohen (1934-2020).
Bruce Cohen Labor Collection, 1888-1983
Pamphlets, manuals, newsletters, and government documents related to labor relations collected by WSU Professor, Bruce Cohen and Worcester union organizer, Edward J. Zysk.
Vera Dowden Baldwin Papers, 1934-2010
Papers of Vera Dowden Baldwin, WSU alumna, faculty member, and administrator.
Malcolm Gordon Cartoon Collection, 1939-2012
Cartoons, books, periodicals, clippings, correspondence, photocopies, biographical information, and articles reflecting the professional work of Worcester, Massachusetts cartoonist Malcolm Gordon (1929-2011).

Rare Books

The Rare Books collection includes more than 600 rare or unique items. Included are examples of bindings and illustrations from the mid 19th to the mid 20th centuries. There are also a small number of signed editions or limited print runs.

About 75% of rare books are cataloged and can be found in the library's Online Catalog.

On the Location dropdown select ARCHIVE and then search.

All rare books, including uncataloged items. are listed on the PDF document below by title or by author.

Rare Books by Title

Archives: Archives Collections

Finding collections

WSU Archives Finding Aids

Special Collections Finding Aids

Rare Books