Skip to main content

Public, Community & Environmental Health Research Guide: Overview

One Search for WSU Library Materials

START with Credo Reference

Credo Logo

TRIP Clinical Search Engine - NEW!

AND ALSO THESE RESOURCES

Credo Health & Medicine Reference A-Z Titles List

MedlinePlus Health Topics - read about symptoms, causes, treatment and prevention for over 1000 diseases, illnesses, health conditions and wellness issues. Provided by the National Library of Medicine, MedlinePlus health topics are regularly reviewed, and links are updated daily.

Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) Browser

Search the Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine

Access Science by McGraw Hill provides access to more than 8500 articles and Research Reviews covering all major scientific disciplines and encompassing the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology and the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology; 115,000+ definitions from the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms; 3000 biographies of well-known scientific figures; 18,000+ downloadable images and animations illustrating key topics. The site also includes weekly news updates on breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology resources for students, and links to Web sites for further research. Full access to 7,100 articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and  it is updated daily.

WSU Databases

AgeLine Focuses exclusively on the population aged 50+ and issues of aging. Includes aging-related content from the health sciences, psychology, sociology, social work, economics and public policy.

AGRICOLA - FREE index with over 3.5 million bibliographic records covering all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines; browse by subject or use the search box - there is an entire section devoted to food and nutrition.This is the primary public database for access to world-wide agricultural information.

Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic - Designed for doctors, nurses, students, clinical specialists by EBSCO with access to 100 full text journals covering clinical medicine, nursing, health care system, etc. All 100 journals are also indexed in MEDLINE.

CINAHL Complete - The definitive research tool for all areas of nursing & allied health literature. It is the most comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index with no embargo periods!

Environmental Health & Toxicology - Find information about: Chemicals & Drugs, Diseases & the Environment, Environmental Health, Occupational Safety & Health, Poisoning, Risk Assessment & Regulations, and Toxicology.

Health Source - Consumer Edition - EBSCO'S collection of consumer health information, providing information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - this database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. 

Medline FREE via PubMed - Created by the National Library of Medicine, users can search abstracts from over 4,000 current biomedical journals. Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, psychiatry, the health care system, and more.

Medline via EBSCOHost 

Medline via ProQuest

Health Sciences & Electronic Resources Librarian

William Lundmark's picture
William Lundmark
Contact:
Learning Resource Center Room 226
508-929-8897

SEE ALSO

This Subject Guide was developed by Katherine Marcinowski, Electronic Resources Assistant.