In a hurry? Try this Quick Guide page from the Chicago Manual of Style website. Gives plenty of examples for both notes and bibliographies for the most commonly cited forms of research sources.
The Chicago Manual of Style by Purdue University Online Writing Lab (OWL) - Chicago Manual of Style. WSU Writing Center uses the OWL site for all citation styles.
UWM Online Writing Center - from the University of Wisconsin at Madison. The Chicago, or Turabian style, sometimes called documentary note or humanities style, places bibliographic citations at the bottom of a page or at the end of a paper. Check with the instructor who assigned your paper to determine whether you need to use notes or whether you can cite sources parenthetically in the body of your paper with a reference list at the end. These pages explain the Chicago/Turabian NOTE system.
The Chicago Manual of Style presents two basic documentation systems: (1) Notes & Bibliography (Chap. 14), and (2) Author-Date (Chap. 15.) Aside from the use of notes versus parenthetical references in the text, the two systems share a similar style.
The Notes and Bibliography (Chap. 14) variation is preferred by Prof. Bothwell. It employs footnotes along with a bibliography organized in alphabetical order. Each note corresponds to a raised (superscript) number placed in the text following the end of the sentence or clause in which the source is referenced. When including a bibliography, it is not necessary to provide full publication details in notes, and the shortened form can be used in the footnote. For example, Journal articles:
In a note, cite specific page numbers. In the bibliography, include the page range for the whole article. For articles consulted online, include a URL or the name of the database. Many journal articles list a DOI (Digital Object Identifier). A DOI forms a permanent URL that begins https://doi.org/. This URL is preferable to the URL that appears in your browser’s address bar.
Complete notes
Shortened notes (use with bibliography)
Bibliography entries (in alphabetical order)
Journal articles often list many authors, especially in the sciences. If there are four or more authors, list up to ten in the bibliography; in a note, list only the first, followed by et al. (“and others”). For more than ten authors (not shown here), list the first seven in the bibliography, followed by et al.
Complete Note
Shortened note (use with bibliography)
Bibliography entry
For more examples, see Notes and Bibliography: Sample Citations in The Chicago Manual of Style.
The Chicago Manual of Style presents two basic documentation systems: (1) Notes & Bibliography (Chap. 14), and (2) Author-Date (Chap. 15.) Aside from the use of notes versus parenthetical references in the text, the two systems share a similar style.
In the Author-Date (Chap. 15.) system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author’s last name and date of publication. The short citations are amplified in a list of references, where full bibliographic information is provided. For example, Journal articles:
In the reference list, include the page range for the whole article. In the text, cite specific page numbers. For articles consulted online, include a URL or the name of the database in the reference list entry. Many journal articles list a DOI (Digital Object Identifier). A DOI forms a permanent URL that begins https://doi.org/. This URL is preferable to the URL that appears in your browser’s address bar.
Reference list entries (in alphabetical order)
In-text citations
Journal articles often list many authors, especially in the sciences. If there are four or more authors, list up to ten in the reference list; in the text, list only the first, followed by et al. (“and others”). For more than ten authors (not shown here), list the first seven in the reference list, followed by et al.
Reference list entry
In-text citation
For more examples, see Author-Date: Sample Citations in The Chicago Manual of Style.
